the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Well, Dearie Me! 676

02.20.2005

7:13 pm

How long did I leave that 100 Things list up there, anyway?

I had an odd backwards experience this morning. When I woke up, my first thought was "Oh boy, it's Monday! Vacation starts today!" and then I was dissapointed to remember that it was only plain boring Sunday. How goofy is that? The good news is, of course, that I have the whole week off. I'm sure that I've had this week in February off every year of my life since I was 5, and this is the last one. Next year's school calendar calls for no vacation in either February or April; they're trying to end the school year a bit earlier to accomodate the construction. I don't see us ever getting them back, either. The trend, even in this area, is for districts to be eliminating these. Usually, though, those schools get the little holidays off, like Columbus Day, Veterans Day, Martin Luther King Day, but we don't. Sometimes I think we must be the only school in America that's still open on MLK day.

As befits a week off, I have TWO whole pages of lists of what I need to do. Most of it is cleaning, and having some work done in the house on Tuesday. Someone is coming tomorrow morning to give me an estimate on a new kitchen floor, and if that looks good, I'll try to get that done this week too. Thursday is the trip to the accountant, which I hate because it involves numbers, and then I have to do K's FAFSA immediately, since it's due by March 1. But then a nice haircut and a facial for Thursday afternoon. Yay! Something fun for me.

K was home for the weekend; you can tell by the various train-related pictures on Buzznet. Really, it was just a stress-free pleasure having her here. I don't think either of the girls felt put-upon by the room sharing thing. I just kept hearing them laugh a lot and enjoy each other's company. And she got back to DC before the snow that we're all allegedly getting tonight, too, so I like that.

Last night we watched The Notebook, a weeper if ever. My evaluation is that the book was better. But Ryan Gosling was pretty, wasn't he? I tried watching The Terminal this morning, but I couldn't get into it. For what's its worth, it was very well directed. I could feel the Tom Hanks' character's despair so clearly that I couldn't bear to watch it anymore.

Tomorrow: I review cleaning products, and respond to media advertising.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching King of the Hill
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here