the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Oh Boy, Oh Boy! 734

04.22.2005

7:17 pm

Really, I have got to stop writing diary entries after I've taken that pill. One night I'm really going to embarrass myself. On the other hand,

I've got questions to answer! Hee hee hee! Thanks, guys!

From LA

Had you tried losing weight before doing WW? If so, why do you think WW worked when other methods didn't? Indeed, I was on WW last year from March to about October, and I lost 20 pounds. (I had lost the full 20 by maybe July, but I stayed on the program for a while.) I had never really tried to lose weight seriously before, although I always had a crappy diet, but this worked and made me feel better about what I was eating, too. I didn't even go very far afield when I went off it officially, but I guess it was enough to put 5-8 pounds back. I lost one today!

From Christopias Spritopher

Do you have an iPod? What kind? Do you love it? Is it hot? I love mine, it is fantastic. I have what I think they call a second generation iPod, the one with four buttons above the wheel. I got it around the time the first minis started to come out. I certainly love it because it's an excellent gadget. I like listening to audiobooks in the car and when I'm walking, although I also listen to music, and have all my music on it. (Including the Strawberry Alarm Clock.) But the battery life is atrocious, and sometimes the buttons just don't work right. On mine, sometimes I can't turn it off. One of my kids says a different button of hers doesn't work at random. If they got the bugs out, it would be 100% awesome. I'm not a Mac person, but I enjoy the elegance of their designs.

From chocolate chaos

Have you ever been stoned? Since you feel that way, you must know how it feels... I spent a good chunk of time stoned during my freshman year of college. Not when I went to class or anything, but recreationally almost every night for about half the year. Then I started dating someone who wasn't into it, and I stopped because I was spending more time with him than with other friends. I smoked sporadically after that, but actually now not since maybe 1979 or 1980, before I was pregnant with R. I was also very very drunk once (also freshman year) and I was sick for three days afterwards. As a result, there is nothing whatsover that looks good to me about recreational drinking, but smoking was always pleasant, never made me sick or do anything stupid (okay, once, sort of) and as far as I was concerned was a much better experience. Not wild about the illegality of the whole thing (I was legally old enough to drink when I drank), but I'm pretty sure the statute of limitations has run out on me. In general? I'm not opposed to smoking marijuana, outside of legal issues, but someone told me just recently what it costs now, and boy has inflation taken hold in the illegal drug industry! Back then, it cost $15 an ounce.

From cosmicrayola

Do you have the recipe for Matzah balls? Can I have it? Ok, that's two. Well. *ahem* Well. I have certainly made my own matzah balls, but I use the Manischewitz mix in the box. So there, the big secret is out. Actually, a big part of it is that you have to have a very light touch when you roll the mix into balls, make the balls small (maybe an inch across), and handle them as little as you possibly can. They absorb the soup while they're cooking, which is what makes them their real size. My friend E, when she makes matzah balls (but she makes them from scratch), forms them into balls and then freezes them on a tray, and then drops them into the boiling soup still frozen. She says that makes them extra light.

From golfwidow

What's your favorite type of student? I'm not saying one specific person; rather, what sort of kid comes into the library and makes you say, "Damn, I wish they were all like that?" I suppose the quality I enjoy most in a student is a sense of maturity, which is to say, they talk to you adult-to-adult. I think that's the big draw of teaching at the high school level, that there are kids like that. This quality crosses all other boundaries: gender, age, academic ability, special education classification, everything. This kind of kid talks respectfully to everyone, and is treated the same way by everyone. Of course, a good sense of humor helps, too.

There have been a great many students over the years that I was especially fond of, but there are two, actually, who stand out as all-time favorites. One was, it so happens, an only child of older parents who were a former nun and a former priest. They treated this kid like an adult from the time he was a baby, and he was an absolute joy to spend time with. This is not to say they also didn't give him a childhood; they did. He was just an adult and funny as hell, as they were. It was like hanging out with a pal. (He was also nearly 7 feet tall, which gave him a much older-than-he-was appearance, on top of everything else.)

From Karyl at bluesleepy

If you had to be evacuated to a desert island for whatever reason, what three books would you take with you and why? Funny, I've always thought of this question in terms of what one book would I take with me, so I have an answer to that: The Complete Works of William Shakespeare, because everything is there. I never tried to reach for two more books before. But I'm going to go with the complete works of John Steinbeck -- there has to be a one-volume edition of that somewhere, so I'm cheating -- because I could read that over and over and over, and for my last I'd probably have to go with Gone With the Wind, same reason. (But if I could squeeze in a lot of Jane Austen or Kurt Vonnegut, that would be nice, too.)

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Felicity
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here