the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Just Updating 771

05.30.2005

1:22 pm

But first, this from l-empress:

Total volume of music on your computer: iTunes says 2901 songs, 11.9 days, 11.4 gigabytes. But some of that -- a lot, I think -- is audiobooks.

The last CD you purchased: R picked up Springsteen's new CD for me a couple of weeks ago.

Song playing right now: When I'm in the house, usually the TV is on, and now is no exception. I rarely listen to music in the house unless there's no one else here, which also doesn't happen too much.

Five songs you've been listening to a lot lately, from different genres: A tough one, because what I've been listening to for the last couple of weeks, pretty steadily unless the radio is on, is Bill Bryson's A Walk in the Woods, which I just finished on Saturday. When I'm in the car with the girls, they put on whatever they want, and I don't always know what it is. I know I recently heard a David Hasselhof song in German, which K says was all the rage when she was over there and heard every five minutes.


Strange doings here is chai-land. For one, I did finish those things for my Niece's wedding about noon today, which amaes me, but they're done. The really weird thing is that R and K are fighting with each other, which I don't recall them doing since they were little. They are sisters who get along remarkably well, but sharing a room for a month is taking its toll on them. Unfortunately, the house is no longer set up for both of them to be living at home, and there just isn't a separate room for each of them. They had an actual blow-out yelling and crying match when we were out in the car yesterday, and today one of them is aloof and the other doesn't know why. I feel so bad for them, but I can't step in; it's a bad idea. I'm here to comfort either or each or both of them, but that's it. They both look tired (sleeping issues in the shared room are at work here) and bummed. They need to talk it out, but we're not good at that here; expressing anger effectively is a skill that they were certainly not taught in this house. We're more the kind of keep-it-inside-until-you-explode-and-dont'-do-that-often kind of folks. Our anger is best managed through repression. Well, maybe not best. But most typically.

No Sith today, I think; R is working later and K looks like she should sleep for a week.

Oy. I'm tired too; I woke up with a sinus headache about 5:00. I'm going to go wash the lunch dishes.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Seinfeld on DVD
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here