the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Hello. 817

07.19.2005

4:28 pm

Here are a couple of pictures of the new old car:

Both the Colleague and the Chum expressed amazement that the Hubs is willing to drive a "gas-guzzler" and a "boat", but this car is neither. It's a smaller sedan that happens to have an immense trunk; it goes all the way behind the back passenger seat. And I was wrong about the year and the mileage; it's a 1991 and has 62k original miles, which makes it already a better car than the one R is driving. It doesn't seem to need much work, either, but we'll see what the Hubs thinks when he gets home. I think he likes it and wants it for his own, which is fine by me, although my father would sure be amused. He was saying years ago that the Hubs ought to get a new car, but I'll bet he never thought it would end up being his own old one.

That's the extent of my exciting day. Oh, I watched Peter Pan last night, the most recent movie (2003) and I liked it very, very much. I don't think I've ever actually gotten to write about how integral Peter Pan was to my childhood, but it was, and I'm always a little apprehensive about any new production or take on it, but this was very well done. The boy who played Peter (Jeremy Sumpter) was perfect, but what drew me to watch it was actually that I happened to catch the last five minutes of it on TV last week, and I was captivated by Jason Isaacs' portrayal of Mr. Darling. His Captain Hook was very nuanced, not cartoonish, and excellent. And it was wonderful to see him in a non-evil role (Mr. Darling, not Hook, of course) because I've really only ever seen him as Lucius Malfoy, and he's evil with a capital E, isn't he. Anyway, if you've seen Finding Neverland, you'll like this one, too.

The cat is on the desk again, hovering over my mouse arm. This is really most inconvenient. Oh wait, now he's settling his face on the keyboard. Whatever it is he's trying to tell me, I wish he'd tell me later.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Ellen
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here