the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

It's a Goal 826

07.28.2005

4:37 pm

The 10,000 steps a day, that is. I think that yesterday must have been the first time I actually achieved it, which I did by starting my day with a walk that lasted for a solid hour. It felt very good, I'm glad I did it, blah blah blah, but really, it just makes it all that more obvious how impossible a goal this is to achieve on a regular basis for lots of people. It falls into that category of things that you're always reading magazine articles about where they tell you how to make this a part of your life, easy as falling off a log! (Just like all the articles about getting rid of insomnia: don't drink caffeine! Clear your thoughts at bedtime! Go to sleep at the same time every night! Uh, yeah, I never thought of that.) Anyway, now I'm off topic, but the steps thing; they're always saying "Take the stairs at work instead of the elevator! Park as far from the building as you can!" and so on. These are things that I think most people don't so much have control over. For me, I work upstairs in a two-story building and the elevator needs a key anyway, so nobody uses it (except for equipment, injured kids, and so on.) But you know, they tend to want me to work in the room I work in, and not spend my day going up and down the one flight of stairs so I can pack on the steps. And I park where they tell me to, in my assigned space, which is based on seniority, so I park very close to the building, thank you very much, because I'm old.

Steps. Just another stupid thing to get cranky over. Which is not to say that I'm not thrilled to have finally done it. But again, once school starts, I can't start my day each day with an hour walk, unless I plan to wake up at four, and it's too dark to walk anyplace then anyway. The mall isn't even open. Walk for an hour after working all day? Yeah, that sounds like a wonderful idea. I'll get right on it.

Really, no idea why I'm sounding so cranky here, because I'm not cranky. In fact, I may have lost a pound. I may have lost two pounds. Time will tell.

So I am going south on the iron horse tomorrow, and will probably not post an entry before I go. Whether or not I will have internet access while I'm away is still up for grabs; it depends on when K's old service will be disconnected and when her new service is starting up. See you Sunday, if not before.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Ellen
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here