the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Sunday 830

08.03.2005

2:16 pm

I woke up Sunday morning to find a cat nuzzling my shoulder. Aww. I have to keep my cats out of the bedroom at home or Q will jump on my head all night. But here, I was not only sleeping in the cat's mommy's bed, there's no door, just a curtain. But it was very sweet. I got up, gave them some food and took something for a headache, and went back to bed for awhile. Once I did get up, I made a cup of coffee and then, as I was eating my breakfast a little after 8, K and her roommate both got up.

They ate cold pizza and then went back to putting things away here and there. After a bit, the roommate went out to buy a fan for the room and I kept K company while she put the finishing touches on her room. At one point her computer started getting the Internet, long enough for each of us to check our mail, but it was just piggybacking on the signal from someone else in the building, and when the connection got lost, that was fine with us, since we were uncomfortable getting it that way anyway. Knowing that her own cable internet was being installed that afternoon made us feel less guilty, though.

While she was doing stuff in her bedroom, I took this picture out though the front living room window:

Later, when we were sitting out front, I took this shot of the street:

I don't know if you can tell how charming this street is. K's been told that the yellow house in the first picture -- right across the street from her -- is owned and inhabited by a Supreme Court justice; I won't say which one. And that a prominent Cabinet member -- one whom I'd like to see unemployed ASAP, although that could be any of them -- lives down the street.

At noon, we bid goodbye to the lovely roommate, who had returned without a fan, and marched down to the Dupont Circle Metro stop. Dupont Circle is a pretty upscale area, full of cafes and shops and restaurants, and very full of people. We were headed first to the Subway (how pedestrian) for lunch. But just before we got there, a certain logo caught my eye, and we had to stop.

It was the gift shop of the HRC, the Human Rights Campaign, which is an organization the promotes (duh) equal rights for all people and, among other things, the right of homosexual people to marry. My club makes good use of their website and materials. So I went in and bought some trinkets for the kids and a travel mug for my co-advisor. (Okay, and one for me, too.)

Then Subway, and then the Metro. Still, no rain today, and a little less humid. Once we were down in the Metro, it ceased to matter. Fifteen minutes later, we were at Union Station. K waited with me for some time, since we got there a little after 1:00 for a 2:20 train (what a surprise) and watched my luggage while I hit Starbucks for a very excellent iced decaf skim latte. (BTW, as we entered the station, there was an Amish gentleman leaning against the wall, smoking a cigarette. I definitely don't get that whole thing as much as I thought I did.)

Got on the train, had a little iced tea and some pretzels, dozed off for about ten minutes, and in general, listened to some more of the Half Blood Prince all the way home. And when I got off the train at 5:10, to my amazement, there was no traffic at all on the Parkway, and I was home by 6:00.

So there you go. A good weekend was had by all. On Monday morning, I was too exhausted to move and too groggy to think until noon. Tuesday morning I met my new principal, but I'll tell that tale tomorrow. Suffice it to say that the Psycho was there, and she's not called the Psycho for nothing.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching ST:TNG
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here