the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Hey Hey Hey 862

08.31.2005

5:35 pm

It was a nice morning, anyway. I had nothing urgent to do today, so I decided last night that I would be sure to exercise in the morning, take a nice shower with new stuff from The Body Shop, and generally be nice to me. And I did it, to my amazement. I did yoga, then walked away a couple of pounds, and after I showered and got dressed, I went out and got the walking video I've been looking for everywhere.

I still have not gotten results from the endoscopy, although I called back today and made it clear that I was not at all happy about them not calling me back. I think tomorrow I will call my internist and ask him to call for results, because when I told him on Monday at the blood pressure check that no one had told me anything, he was not pleased himself. And in other news, they want me to take even more estrogen. Apparently I have the most screwed up hormonal balance on the planet. Who knew?

In today's Yiddish bulletin: meiskiet, which is pronounced mees-kite. What is a meiskiet? Oy, nebbuch. A face only a mother could love. Really, a horror. There is a very cute little song in the musical Cabaret called "Meeskite" about two unlikely people getting married and producing a beautiful baby. It is a word never used around its subject, i.e., you would never call someone a meiskiet to his or her face. Only used behind closed doors, or more likely, as gossip. Speaking of gossip, the master of gossip, one who knows everybody's business and tells tales, is a yenta. There is no male equivalent for this word.

And then I ... um ... okay, now I'm running out of steam. The afternoon's been quiet, boring. A brief trip out for coffee and to Target a few hours ago, and that's it. I must say, it's been very odd sharing my entire summer vacation with R, who stopped working at the giant bookstore in mid-July. We don't do every thing together, and she sleep later than I do, so I've got that time to myself, but it is a little strange. She has an interview tomorrow for a real job, so everybody, keep your virtual fingers crossed. Of course, by the time she starts, I'll be back at work myself, but that really isn't the point. If she gets the job and gets to where she can move out, I'll have plenty of time to myself, and then I'll miss her. So there.

Okay. I found a new low-calorie recipe website, so I'm going to explore.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Gilmore girls
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here