the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

It's a Two Entry Day For Me 885

09.23.2005

5:32 pm

My first entry is here, which I just posted although I wrote it earlier; it's a family sort of rant, for what that's worth.

And now, life.

Yesterday at about 11:30 in the morning, the power winked out all over the high school, and in that part of town; two other schools were affected as well. I had brought something for lunch that needed nuking, but the Chum was out, so I just went home for lunch, where I joyfully discovered that this part of town was plenty electrified, thank you very much. I got back by 12:30; at 12:40, they started sending the kids home. (It must be illegal, I think, to keep kids there without an alarm or public address system.) At about 12:42, the power came back on, but they had already dismissed half the building, so they just kept on. They let the staff go at about 1:15.

WHOOO-EEEE! Getting out of school early, how cool was that? I came home and cooled off (because the heat is still dreadful in this part of the world, and schools are notoriously without a/c) and played with the DVD recorder thingy, and copied some videotapes to DVD. Last night I taped recorded The O.C. for K and popped it in the mail this morning. I just love gadgets!

A very cool thing happened earlier; actually, it's either very cool or shows just how stupid I am. I think it's probably both, but I'm going to enjoy it as if it were a gift. Which it's not. Here's what I did. I realized sometime last spring that I had been overpaying some on K's tuition all along, probably because I got mixed up by the little bit of financial aid she got and didn't actually deduct it. So we had this rather large credit, and she took summer classes on it; not technically free, of course, because it was just that I had paid it ahead of time, but it meant that I didn't have to come up with cash for summer school. So today I got the tuition statement and of course I didn't understand it, and I called, and we still have some credit, so much so that I will be finished paying for her college in January instead of May.

Okay, okay, I realize that I let these people hold onto our money for x amount of time and this was stupid and I could have been using the money for other things all along, but I DIDN'T KNOW SO IT DIDN'T HURT ME and now ... drumroll, please .... another drumroll ... college tuition for my children will be finished in January.

I don't care if I'm stupid. This is a goooood thing.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Gilmore Girls
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here