the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

I'm Calm, Anyway 888

09.26.2005

6:24 pm

It looks like I'm not going to debtor's prison after all, and you know, that always makes me happy. Truly, back in 1977 when I said to the Hubs, "So, how about if I pay the bills?" he should have stopped me then. I'm just not good at it. Although I must admit that since the advent of Microsoft Money, I don't cry anymore. Whatever; I'm much better about all of this than I used to be, I just didn't think something through. Case closed.

I was thinking of yet another name rant, but I don't have to write it because the USA Today did. Theirs is not so much a rant, okay, it's a newspaper article. Here ya go. And the second article is here.

So R is working at her big girl job, which I think she would like somewhat if they actually ever gave her any work to do. It's a long story that I won't go into, but she may have already networked a little into something more in her line, so that would be nice. She's also taking another improv class in the city and called me from work a little while ago, having checked her phone messages, and she's been invited to appear in one of their real shows on Saturday night. Okay, that's not too much info there, but it's a cool thing, even if it doesn't lead anywhere. In the world of improv, there are the different companies in various cities -- Second City in Chicago and Toronto, and the Groundlings in L.A. -- where a lot of comedians and actors come from these days (such as the entire cast of Saturday Night Live, since the beginning) and she's taking her class at the big New York improv company. So if nothing else, she could meet some actual celebrities and well-known performers. A neat experience for her. (The show is at midnight and in the city, ergo, I will not be attending. I promise, when she's on SNL, I'll be there.)


I was trying to think of something else to write -- that is, I thought there was something else and then I lost it -- but I had dinner instead, so I'm just going to post this now before I forget to do that, too.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching The Simpsons
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here