the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Fans: On. Shit: Everywhere 920

10.31.2005

6:01 pm

Once again, proof positive that the crap that happens here in Happy Valley High School (formerly Bizarro Town High School, but it's on beyond bizarre) isn't personal where I'm concerned. Today they shuffled around administrative personnel, giving one guy a promotion that he didn't even apply for (he was discouraged after not getting the last three or four he really wanted, so he didn't bother this time) and screwing over another guy who was the only applicant for the job and who was perfectly qualified as well. There's more, but who really cares; it's just another level of hell that we've descended to, playing personal power games instead of ... oh wait, we're supposed to be teaching kids here? Right.

In other news, I did see several very creative and original costumes at school today. One group of about eight girls came as characters from Pleasantville, all of them wearing shades of gray to indicate black-and-white TV, including their face make-up, which was awesome. Each had one small touch of red somewhere to show that they were just beginning to come alive in color. It took a lot of thought and was very impressive. Another group came as the characters from Pete and Pete, which I only know because both of my kids are fanatics about this old Nickelodeon show that was filmed in New Jersey. I was also very impressed by the Jamaican bobsled team, complete with bobsled.

In yet other news, it appears that I can pass on the chocolate cake and ice cream goodies that people are bringing in for Friday desserts at school, but the Halloween candy is calling to me from the other room, even though I got crappy candy of purpose so I wouldn't want to eat it. Well, it's not absolute crap, not like the dad gave out on Everybody Hates Chris last week -- Gravy Way and Nickers bars, I believe -- but it's just Skittles (ooh, taste the rainbow; they were left over from the GSA display at Club Fair) and mini-Charms lollipops. Now if I'd gotten Reese's cups, or even better, white chocolate Reese's cups, I'd have to be tied down somewhere for my own protection.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Golden Girls
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here