the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Thank God, A Meme 931

11.12.2005

4:01 pm

I've had better days. Mostly, I'm just feeling bored and alone and neglected and not very happy with myself. Let's see how I do with this. Got it from LA.

Twenty Questions...

1. What's for breakfast? - Today I had Jenny french toast, with a banana and sugar-free maple syrup. Every other day I have a half cup of Go Lean cereal, about 6 oz. of non-fat vanilla yogurt, and a banana. I hate bananas, btw, but they're good for you, and I can tolerate them in cereal or as a topping.

2. Do you read a newspaper daily? - No. Sometimes I read the Life section in USA Today, but our subscription expires as of this week. I read CNN.com several times a day, however.

3. What do you do when you can't sleep?- This is pretty much an every night occurrence for me. First line of defense, lie in bed and tell myself stories and hope to fall back to sleep. Second line, get up, lie down on the couch in the family room with the TV on and hope to fall asleep there. Worst case scenario, the first one, followed by the second one, but with lots of eating.

4. Say a word that sums up your mood - Unenjoyable.

5. Do you remember your dreams? - Yes. Sometimes only for a few minutes after I wake up, and sometimes for years and years. Depends on the dream, I guess.

6. Name something from your dream last night? - I remember dreaming something very specific and in great detail, but it's too late in the day for me to remember what it was about now.

7. Name a food that describes you. - Macaroni and cheese.

8. Today you are wearing: I put on yoga pants and a loose long-sleeved shirt for my Jenny weigh-in this morning -- jeans are too heavy. I haven't bothered to change.

9. What's in your pockets? - No pockets today. Normally, I do not function without pockets. It's a sign of my mood today that I never changed into jeans, aka, pants with pockets.

10. Did you sing in the shower today? - I didn't take a shower today. Sue me.

11. What's the last song you heard? - Something by the Supremes on the radio in the car this morning, I think.

12. Looking forward to the holidays? - Uh ... uh ... I can't honestly say. Normally, I love Thanksgiving. But I fear a repeat of last year's debacle when I spent the whole day aggravating over my sister's lack of contact with me and seeming lack of interest in our participation (although all was fine once we got to her house.) The fact that she was supposed to call me this morning before noon because we were supposed to see each other this afternoon and I still haven't heard from her is not helping me.

13. Where do you want to be this instant? - My standard answer is "Disney World," and that still applies, although right now I'd settle for almost anywhere where I would be doing something and not be by myself. I suppose I have the ability to do that in my own power, eh?

14. What's for lunch? - Today, a Jenny turkey burger. It's delish.

15. What's something you would like to do soon? - Have a conversation with a live human being. Get someone to fix the humidifier. Get the fuck out of my house.

16. Reading anything now? What is it? - I finished a re-listen/re-read of Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire a few hours ago. When I saw that I had an hour more to go on the audio book, I turned it off and read the rest. Took about ten minutes.

17. What's for dinner? - Jenny pizza.

18. A Favorite part of the day is: On work days, I have a morning routine -- only took me 52 years to come up with it -- that works and is very satisfying, for some reason, especially the coffee. A good part of the day is if I weigh myself and I haven't gained anything. I also like it when someone else comes home.

19. Are you happy? - Overall? Yes. Just not today.

20. Will your friends do this meme? Ah, what a question. I am very much channeling Lucy Ricardo today, feeling like I should be in the ranks of the Friends of the Friendless. Anyone who wants to do it, knock yourself out.

Oy, I feel worse now. Can you tell?

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching absolute crap
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here