the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

The Thanksgiving Recap 943

11.24.2005

9:32 pm

We just got home a few minutes ago; I've taken off my hearing aids, which means it's the end of the day for me. But first, a recap.

It was as nice a day as I could have asked for. I don't think I had a negative moment all day -- until we left to go home, but I'll come back to that -- and it was just lovely. We cooked some here, the Hubs' parents came for a visit on their way from where they live near the shore up to his sister's, about 45 minutes north of us. We eat later than most people do, at six, pretty much because of Sweet Nephew's diabetes; we need to eat on his schedule. We got to the Sibs' a little after 5:30 and basically just started to eat. I didn't eat a lot of anything, but I ate some of whatever was on the table. There was just the right amount of all the food (enough for reasonable leftovers) and everything was excellent.

The company too was excellent. Again, not a negative moment, which I had dreaded a bit since I was so stressed out last year by the time we got there (although all was well once we were there.) Anyway, enough of that. It was a great holiday. My ordinarily non-social husband even chatted a bit with my sister's somewhat gregarious and overly-excitable husband, which may be a first. Also, we got to see Wonderful Niece's wedding album -- wedding last June, they just got it -- and it was certainly the nicest wedding album I have ever seen. Modern technology!

What did freak me out, oddly, was that when we left, walking from their door to the car, someone said "It's snowing," although it was too light even to see. But at that moment, I realized that I was cold, colder than I had ever felt in my whole life. I felt frighteningly cold. It was bizarre. I started to shake and breathe very hard. Crazy. We live about four miles away from the Sibs', we took a route without traffic lights, and there were no other cars on the road. By the time we got home, it was sticking to the road and parked cars were covered with a dusting. It was a very strange experience.

BTW, R drove us over there in her New Car! and did indeed drive when she and K and I went out to dinner last night. This is a new chapter in my life, folks.

Hope everyone had as nice a day as I did. Sleep well.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Hitchhiker's Guide (DVD)
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here