the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

It's That Time of Day 950

12.02.2005

8:00 pm

I've read diaries, I've read the news, I've checked my email. I've had dinner. I've even had my two after-dinner Tums. There is nothing whatsoever left to do.

Oh. I forgot to write my entry. This happens to me all the time.

La la la, I am just absent-minded, I guess. Until Monday, I had post-it notes everywhere; now I've got a calendar and a to-do list on the Palm. Unless I see it written there, I am likely to forget to do whatever it is I need to do. But writing down "write entry" would be stupid, like writing down "eat meals."

I have no idea where I'm going with this.

It is coldy-cold out there today. Okay, it's not chaos' 19, but it's twenty-something. I'm not enjoying it.

La la la, I am boring today. But I am not bored. I believe I would rather be boring than bored. I'm just saying.

So one of the SCM's less endearing qualities is the TV thing. For example, he has basic cable, which is swell if you're happy watching basic cable, or if you're particularly frugal, as his wife is. (Although I've met her and she seems plenty nice.) Anyway, one of the shows he likes is The Sopranos, but of course he doesn't get HBO, so for years, he would ask around to see who had HBO and would tape it for him. I believe he got people to do this for the first season or two, but then nobody would, because who could blame them? If you're paying for your cable, why tape stuff for people who don't get it because they're just being cheap about it? Consequently, I do not offer to bring him stuff I've recorded, and especially not DVDs that I've bought, except for the occasional episode of something that I happened to tape and he happened to miss an episode of. Which brings me to Lost.

The Colleague and I have been Lost devotees from the first episode. But the SCM didn't watch it because his wife wasn't interested in it. Fine, whatever. But when the DVDs came out, he decided to watch it. He has netflix or something, and is getting the DVDs one disc at a time. Once again, what do I care?

Except he comes in every day now and wants to talk about the episodes he watched last night. And he thinks he understands Lost completely now, with each episode he sees, he thinks he knows just what's going on. So he asks me questions: "Jack's father was a hallucination, right?" "Wow, a polar bear!" And all I can say is "Hey, I don't know," because, you know if you watch Lost, I don't. The only answers I have are to questions that he doesn't even know are going to be asked. And he's asking me about shows I watched over a year ago.

I may have to break down here. I'm not bringing in my DVD set, because I paid for that and he can just rent them, or whatever it is he does. But when he's finished with season one, I may have to give him my recordings of season two, just to bring him up to speed. And then he can show me how much he knows about all the other stuff that's been going on.

In the meantime, who knows anything about a horse?

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Degrassi
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here