the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

At Least It's Friday 965

12.16.2005

4:27 pm

I am incredibly tired.

Three or four times in the last week, I have stayed up until R got home, or at least, have dozed but kept myself mostly awake. Last night, I only slept for about twenty minutes somewhere in there before 1 a.m. So I got maybe four hours of sleep, possibly five, again. We were supposed to have terrible weather this morning and there was a chance of a snow day, but it didn't happen. It would have been nice, though.

She has really got to move out. Not that I don't actually love having her there, I do. I just need to not know, on a daily basis. She lived in Wales for a year; did I know what time she got home every night? Or if? I did not, I did not need to. A much better arrangement. For both of us, I would think.




The person I mentioned the other day tells me today that she now has very good reason to believe that her children have not been harmed in any way by her ex/their father (other than having a screw-up for a father.) This is, of course, most excellent news. This young mother's relief is a wonderful thing to see.

I just went back to the doctor after school today and got my chin stitches removed, also a painless procedure. He says I need to keep a tiny strip of tape on it for a month (!) so that the scar line stays together and heals as small as possible. Swell. Frankly, I'm not all that bothered by having a scar; that wasn't my original issue. I'll see how it looks on Monday. It would be real nice to just wash my face, put on a bit of make-up, and have a life.

I just got an invitation in the mail today to a baby shower for someone I didn't even know was pregnant, the recent (about a year) wife of the Hubs' youngest first cousin. (The dad-to-be is about 35, actually.) Feh. I'm very happy for them and all, but for one, I'm not such a believer in baby showers. Until the more recent homogenizing of society, you would rarely see Jewish people throw baby showers; it was considered bad luck. Not to mention that this is a good hour and a half away, and that the Hubs' aunt (the grandma-to-be and shower-thrower) is a party maniac, and loves to throw parties for every member of her family for every opportunity and we rarely go to any of them because hey, that just ain't us. I'll be very happy to send a gift -- or more likely, a gift card -- but hmmm, January 8 ... that IS the day we're taking K back to school, isn't it? Okay, it is now.

(Oddly, I have no problem with baby showers at work, a nice little gathering days before someone goes off on maternity leave. Although the last one I was in on left us somewhat holding the bag, including all the plates and decorations and stuff, when the mom went on bed-rest two weeks early. Hey, whatcha gonna do.)

So the Hubs says to me yesterday, he says, "Well, it looks like you might get a Christmas present this year after all." Oh, well then. He says that they are painting his office over the weekend, so he can't go in and work all day Saturday as he generally does. (He does not have to do this, of course, ever, but does almost every weekend.) So now he can go shopping. Remember, the only people he buys for are me and his father. Anyway, I said it didn't matter to me, because I thought we were going to Disney World again. Some years back -- 1988, I think -- he was too busy to shop for me at all for Christmas, and so he gave me a "gift certificate" that he made up saying he would go on a vacation (which he also doesn't do) anywhere I wanted. That's how I got my first trip to Disney World. He was actually miserable every moment we were there. I loved every minute we were there, as well as my little side dish of irony. He has been very careful to shop every year since then. As well he should.

Now it's almost 4:30 in the afternoon. I wrote the first part of this entry around 9 this morning. And let me say that I am still incredibly tired. I may nap.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Ellen
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here