the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Eureka 971

12.21.2005

6:37 pm

I've found it: a story that I've never told on dland before. I bet you didn't think I had one left.

I've mentioned my Grandma Ida and her multiple quirky siblings

the oldest and littlest of whom was Aunt Becky. Last night, I was alone in the house as the Hubs was not yet home and R was out gallivanting, and this thought came to me: When I am old, and should I ever live alone, even without cats, I will probably spend 100% of my time carrying on a non-stop, running conversation with myself. (This thought came to me because I was walking around the kitchen saying "Ooh, what am I having for dinner? Oh, I remember. Hey, I like that." And so on. Naturally, I thought of Aunt Becky. Here's the story.

My Cousin, to whom I am somewhat close, is eight years older than I am. This means that she has very clear memories of all of us living in the Bronx, at one point three families in the same apartment. Mecca for all the ladies in the family was the giant department store, Alexander's, which was only a few blocks away from where we lived, on Fordham Road. Cousin tells the tale -- and she's been telling it all my life -- that she was in Alexander's with her mother one day, and they saw a crowd gathered. Naturally, they assumed it was some hot bargain, and they edged up closer. At that point, they saw that there was a circle of people standing at a comfortable distance around Aunt Becky, who was picking up clothing, deciding on one piece against another, while she kept up a running conversation. With herself. She was alone. In public. Speaking in a conversational tone as if every one of her looney sisters was standing right beside her.

So this is my destiny. Maybe when the time comes, I'll get a goldfish.


I stole this from Jules, because she was bored and so am I.

1. What is your middle name? I don't have one. But for the last 28 years or so, I've used my maiden name as a middle name. My middle initial is S.

2. Do you have a crush? I have a husband. Does that count?

3. What are you listening to right now? Watching TV, of course.

4. Last two digits of your phone number? 19.

5. Last thing you ate? an apple. Golden. Delicious.

6. Last person you hugged? K at the train.

7. How is the weather right now? COLD. (Here, too.)

8. Who was the last person you talked to on the phone? My sister before she left for Disney World, and K, just to tell me she was on the train. Not much of a conversation.

9. The first thing you notice about the opposite sex? Height, I think.

10. Favorite food? Macaroni and cheese.

11. Do you drink? Practically never. Less than once a year.

12. Do you smoke? Sadly, no. I miss it.

13. Ever get so drunk you don't remember what you did? Not that I can recall.

14. Hair color? brown

15. Eye color? green

16. Do you wear contacts? No. Progressive bifocals.

17. Favorite Holiday? Thanksgiving.

18. When's your Birthday? January 12.

19. Have you ever cried for no reason? How much of a reason would I need?

20. Last Movie you Watched? Parts of the Prince and Me the other day.

21. Last time you were at work? Earlier today.

22. Last time you were out of state/city? I went down the Parkway about thirty miles today. My city is small; I go out of it just to get to Starbuck's in the morning.

23. Last time you went bowling? I swear, thirty years ago. I've been to bowling alleys since, with Girl Scouts and school trips, but I don't think I've thrown a ball in thirty years. I took bowling for Phys. Ed. in college. I was the only person in the class whose average went down.

24. Something unusual about you? Generally, I feel that everything about me is unusual, while simultaneously being just like everyone else.

25. Favorite breakfast food? What they call in England the full monty: eggs, bacon, hashbrowns, french toast, the works.

26. Favorite color? Purple, of course

27. What are you afraid of? A whole bunch of things, but primarily snakes.

28. If you could take a trip anywhere where would it be? Anyplace warm, preferably where a big mouse in red shorts lives.

29. What books are you reading? I'm listening to that Jimmy Carter book.

30. Number of peircings? One in my right ear, two in my left.

31. Favorite movie? Oh ... Casablanca. Or Gone With the Wind.

32. Favorite basketball team? Basketball?

33. What were you doing before you filled this out? Nada.

34. Any pets? The cats BooBoo and Q.

36. Butter, Plain or Salted popcorn? I wish I could eat popcorn, but I'm not allowed and I miss it. I like popcorn drenched in butter. A little salt.

37. Dogs or cats? Both.

38. Favorite Flower? Not particularly a flower fan.

39. Have you ever been caught doing something you weren't supposed to? Hasn't everybody?

40. Are you single or taken? Taken. Hah!

41. Have you ever loved someone? Certainly.

42. Who would you like to see right now? That would be the giant mouse in the red shorts.

43. Are you still friends with your ex's? First, that was a hundred years ago. Second, it was in another state. So, no.

44. Do you like to travel by plane? I'm not fond of it, but I'm generally not freaked out by it.

45. Are you left or right handed? Right.

46. Do you play an instrument? I can play the radio.

47. How many pillows do you sleep with? Two.

48. Do you have a Tattoo? I have two. The purple chai, of course, a purple peace sign.

49. Do you still watch cartoons on Saturday mornings? No.

Wait .. this survey had 49 questions? 49? Where's my closure? Where's my OCD satisfaction? Gaaaaaaa!

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Seinfeld
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here