the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Warning! 982

01.01.2006

7:03 pm

And I'm not talking about the poem. It's a cranky alert. Read at your own risk.

Other than wishing people a happy new year, which just seems reasonable and polite, this whole New Year's Eve/Day thing just goes right over my head. I don't get it; it's just another day. I saw some of the celebrations on the news this morning, and I think those million people in Times Square are all just crazy. Possibly, it's me and not them, since there were like, you know, a million of them. I'm just saying.

I feel like absolute crap. I know it's not the flu because I have neither fever nor body aches. My ears are blocked up and hearing is really more hypothetical than anything else. I will be useless like this at school tomorrow, but I have to be in a meeting with the principal (and others) at 1:00, so I have to go in. Sadly, the man is a low talker, so my being there is really more a visual thing than anything else, since I will hear nothing he says. (Even on a good day, I hear almost nothing of what he says.)

I walked past a mirror a few minutes ago. I sure hope I look better tomorrow, with make-up on.

I've been emailing with the Chum this morning, telling her about my accident yesterday and my general ill health, and she suggests that now that I've had three accidents, I'm probably done; you know, the whole "things come in threes" theory. I don't know that I buy that (because I think things generally happen randomly), but I've decided to buy into it for now. It will make my drive to DC next week so much less terrifying if I can believe that I've had all the accidents I'm going to have for now, thank you.

(K said something last night about doing some errands while we're down there and we have a car. Dude. I will drive the hundreds of miles to DC, if necessary. I will not drive around inside a city unless there's a life at stake. I've conceded to drive from her apartment to the campus once so she doesn't have to buy her books and bring them home on the Metro -- it's a fairly direct route -- and I will possibly drive to a supermarket in her neighborhood if it has a parking lot.)

I have no energy or ambition today. I thought I would put away the tree and ornaments, and maybe I will later, but for now, I got nothing. I don't even have the interest to take a nap.

Okay, I won't post now. Maybe later.

.
.
.

Later.

I'm slightly less bummed than I was, possibly because the headache abated for a while. In general, I still feel like something the cat threw up. The most I've accomplished all day is laying out clothes for tomorrow and packing my lunch. I've got all kinds of errands to do after school tomorrow, although I may pass on all but picking up the cat's medicine at the vets and going to the cleaners. With any luck, one or both of the girls will go to the supermarket, but I don't know if I can rely on that. Or if they'll get what I need if they go. What can I say.

Okay, now I'll post. Hope everyone's day was better than mine.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Degrassi
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here