the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

I Forgot How Much I Remember 986

01.05.2006

6:11 pm

To remove cards from the catalog, release the lock on the rod in the drawer. Pull up lightly on the card to be removed, while pulling out the rod at the same time. The card will slide up. Replace and lock the rod.

NOTE WELL: IT IS THE LAW OF THE LIBRARY THAT ANYONE WHO DROPS A CATALOG DRAWER WITHOUT THE ROD IN IT WILL REFILE ALL THE CARDS IN THEIR CORRECT ORDER, NO MATTER HOW LONG IT TAKES.



I found this morning, among my souvenirs, a looseleaf-bound textbook that I wrote and used to train the students who worked in the library, oh, say, twenty years ago. It made me laugh. Almost none of it is still relevant, and I'm reading terms and expressions that I haven't really thought of in years. The rod in the card catalog drawers .... card catalog drawers ... heh heh. It's another world ago. I may release another tidbit into my words from time to time; if they don't make sense to you, don't worry; they don't make that much sense to me anymore.

(The stern warning about dropping a rod-less drawer was in part so the kids would know that if I dropped one, or even the miserable man who was the head librarian, that we would suffer the same penalty. No one ever dropped one, of course. I would have 40 year old former students in here still filing.)

(And here's another sidebar. When I write any part of an entry at work, I type it into gmail and send it to myself, to look at later at home, and post. Gmail, as you may or may not know -- I've mentioned it before -- posts ads alongside your incoming mail based on words that appeared within its text. There are no ads for card catalogs with this one. I guess that really is a whole world ago.)

Antibiotics, let me say, are THE DEVIL. The one I'm taking has a warning label against taking vitamins, mineral supplements, or antacids within 8 hours before I take it as well as within 4 hours after. So now I have to arrange my daily schedule to accomodate this new drug, which, let me say, is playing havoc with my digestive system. The girls just went out for Thai food. I did not join them. But I am feeling something better than death warmed over, so I suppose that is a plus. It could also just be the cold running its course, but so many people I know have a cold like this lingering for weeks or months this winter, I kind of doubt it.

Today is the 53rd birthday of my dear OldFriend, which means mine cannot be far behind. We have been friends since we were 8, and grew up across the street from each other, when I moved in there. I was remembering today how three years ago, her mother called me to talk about having a surprise 50th birthday party for her -- an absurdly horrible idea, which I told her -- and she said "I'm calling because, you know, Daughter is turning 50!" I said, "Yes. I know. Our birthdays are a week apart." I'm not saying that everyone I've ever met needs to know when my birthday is, but trust me, the two of us spent a lot of years sharing our birthdays with all of our parents in the room. Anyway, Happy Birthday, kid! Listen to your phone messages!

Hey everybody, thanks for all your kind words about R's knitted bag! She gave it to her friend's fiance last night, and she loved it.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Friends
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here