the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

A Meme From the Memeless 988

01.06.2006

6:27 pm

My real entry for today is here.

So I'm reading Jane's diary last night, and she did a meme, which she almost never, ever does. And it was an interesting, yet simple meme, and my first thought was, Oh, maybe I'll do this one, and my next thought was, Crap, am I boring, or what?

The Meme of Four

Four jobs you have had:


  1. My first job other than babysitting was in a fabric store on the highway adjacent to my neighborhood, so I could mostly walk there. I worked there during most of my junior year in high school.

  2. My first job as a librarian was in a synagogue in Short Hills, which is a very upscale New Jersey community. I worked Saturday and Sunday morning and mostly told stories to little kids.

  3. I have been working in my current real job, librarian at Bizarro Town High School, since February 2, 1977.

  4. For four summers, I worked as a camp counselor at a fairly posh day camp in Rockland County, New York, so that my kids could go there for free. For the first two years I was the assistant computer counselor, and then I was head of arts and crafts.


Four movies you would watch over and over:

  1. Murphy's Romance

  2. Overboard

  3. La Cage Aux Folles

  4. The Birdcage


Four places you have lived:

  1. I was born in the Bronx, New York City.

  2. I moved to Ridgefield, New Jersey when I was two.

  3. I moved to Bizarro Town, New Jersey, on the other side of the same county, when I was 8.

  4. We lived one town over from Bizarro Town for about eight years when we were first married, and then moved back to B.T. twenty years ago.


Four TV shows you love to watch:

Current shows only. If I reached back into the past, we'd be here all day.


  1. Lost

  2. Gilmore Girls

  3. Arrested Development

  4. My Name is Earl


Four places you have been on vacation:

  1. I spent every vacation until I was 9 at my grandmother's house in Taunton, Mass. Oh wait, we went to Atlantic City when I was maybe two, but I don't remember that; I've only seen pictures.

  2. When I was 9, Grandma passed on, and we went to New Hampshire for two weeks on vacation.

  3. The Hubs and I spent several summers going to New Hampshire for a week, where his parents rented a cabin or house for a month every summer.

  4. When the kids were little and we were tired of making the long drive, we would go to Parvin State Park in south Jersey for a week. I think we did that for four years.


Four websites you visit daily:

  1. All of yours. I'm counting that as one.

  2. Gmail

  3. CNN.com

  4. TVGuide.com


Four of your favorite foods:

  1. macaroni and cheese

  2. eggs, especially over-easy or scrambled, but any kind of eggs

  3. good french toast

  4. pie. I like pie.


Four places you would rather be right now:

  1. The Magic Kingdom

  2. EPCOT

  3. MGM Studios

  4. Parvin State Park

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Seinfeld
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here