the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Back on the Line 1006

01.26.2006

3:43 pm

I went to work, like a good girl, today. I don't think there were five kids in the library the whole day, which was to be expected. The two midterms scheduled were for the two periods that are also normally lunchtimes, so half the school didn't have to be there for the first exam and the other half didn't have to be there for the second exam. It took me until 9:00 just to get through the crap that was waiting for me on my desk from the two days I was out, and then another hour or more to get the website updated, since I had to walk around the building first and grab a picture for the home page. Which I combined with the walk around the building I'm trying to work in every day, so no problem there.

Went out for lunch with the Chum and E, as planned, and had a most wonderful time. I see the Chum every day at school, but E only a few times a year, and each time it's as if no time has elapsed at all and we are all just as close as we've always been. E is a bit older than I am -- she showed us her brand-new medicare card today -- but I have had a special closeness with her for many years. She is possibly the least judgmental person I have ever known. I don't think there's anything I wouldn't tell her, if the opportunity arose, and I would never worry that she was thinking "Oh wow, she really is some kind of freak!" She's not going to Antarctica, btw, just all over South America, including climbing up Machu Picchu. And when I retire, she's promised to teach me to play Mah Jong.

R is still riding her lucky streak, it seems; I won't see her tonight because she's going out before I come back from having my nails done, but she called me at work before to say that they may have found a roommate for the extra bedroom in her new apartment, which would bring the rent down considerably. It's fairly inexpensive already, as apartments go, but she doesn't make a huge amount of money, so every bit helps. (She's actually considering yet another job, although very part-time, perhaps one day a month, which would bring her up to juggling three jobs at once. Can't say she's not a worker.) Plus, the friend who decided against moving in with her is still a real good buddy, no hard feelings on either side.

I'm still mega-tired; retirement is really starting to look like the good option here. And yet I must wait. Well, the warm weather will come long before retirement; I guess that'll have to do.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Dr. Phil
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here