the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

So. 1029

02.17.2006

4:51 pm

So, as reported at 5:22 this morning, they are safely arrived in Toronto. And I neither lost my mind nor had a heart attack/stroke. In fact, I was fine. Other than the not sleeping.

I was totally fine, a bit misty when they left just before 8 pm, but then I settled in on the couch, turned on the TV, and let nature take its course, which is not so much a course with me, but a hesitant limp. In other words, without medical assistance, of which I did not avail myself last night, I simply do not sleep in even a remotly normal manner. (I know, I know, normal is what's normal for you. But this sucks.)

I didn't want to be in a drugged sleep, of course, because what if they called? You need to be available, you know. And I knew I couldn't get into bed and not sleep for ... well, all night, because that could drive me crazy. So it was the couch with the TV on. I drifted into a very light sleep for a couple of hours after midnight, and then again for a half hour at ... oh, I don't know when. So I'm quite the zombie today. And yet I functioned. Go me.

They called to check in around 11 pm, and I called them once only, around 4:30 in the morn. And then they called, as we know, once they were in the hotel. I also talked to R for a good twenty minutes around noon today. All is well, as I certainly knew it would be once they were there.

So?

Here's hoping that my temporary insanity is now behind me. I felt very good today, except for the no-sleep thing. I had a facial, which was totally da bomb (if I may be so bold.) I took Boo the cat to and from the groomers, and did another one or two local tasks. Once I was home again with Boo, I tried to nap, but, once again, my brain just does not go willingly to that sleep place.

So.

I have tasks tomorrow morning, and then what has become my movie watching/recording day. Sadly, I think I must also sort papers during the movies so that I can actually get our taxes done this year. Always an unpleasant chore, but must be done, must be done. I have four movies to record; I'm sure I'll be reviewing them, so to speak, tomorrow, because I'll probably want to anything in the world other than sort papers.

Oh, and the silver lining of my week of lunacy, if such a thing exists, is that I am a boredom-eater but not a stress-eater, so I lost three or four pounds. Now if I could just keep that twisted knot in my stomach full time without actually having to be stressed to the max, I could reach my goal weight in no time.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Ellen
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here