the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Need. Sleeeep. 1065

03.23.2006

7:11 pm

I know I harp on this a lot, but when I am sleep-deprived, it seems to consume great amounts of my waking attention. Not only do I lie awake for periods all through the night, wondering why I'm not asleep, I seem to spend large chunks of the day feeling completely exhausted. I persevere through the work day, but that will be somewhat difficult when I actually have nothing to do there. Once I'm home, all I want to do is sleep, which of course I can't, but I do crash. This afternoon, I watched Big Love, that new HBO show about a polygamous family, which was watchable, entertaining. I don't generally go in for those HBO dramas, but I had read the recap of the first episode online, so I gave it a shot.

I was also slightly on edge for most of the day, having seen the news report first thing in the morning about that bus accident in Chile in which many American tourists were killed. They were docked there on a cruise and were taking a sight-seeing bus trip. My good friend E is spending her retirement traveling, and was going to South America. I'm not sure exactly when, and I think she's home by now, but I emailed her as soon as I heard -- she's not a phone person, and is probably not home, even if she's back from her cruise -- but I haven't heard back. I saw on TV just about two hours ago that those in the accident were, in fact, from New Jersey and with a Jewish tour group -- not encouraging -- but were mostly all from the same retirement community. And she's not living in one of those, so I'm relieved, and assuming that she's okay. She doesn't check her email every day, but hopefully, I'll hear from her in a day or two.

I think there must be a map somewhere, with a circle drawn around Bizarro Town at a radius of 50 miles or so, and as long as my kids are living outside that circle, I don't worry about them day-to-day. They've both lived away at college and in Europe for months at a time, and I was fine. When K was in Berlin, I did not go to bed every night needing to know if she'd gotten in and was safe; I was fine. Sadly, R's new apartment must be within the circle, because I would like very much to hear from her every day so I know she's alive. I don't -- which is normal -- but I sure would like to. She was here last night watching Lost with me, and left around 10:15. Like last week, I did not ask her to call when she got home, because again, I'm striving to be a normal person here. But she could have emailed me today, no? Just a little "Hey, I'm living" note would be fine. Ah, well. I may break down and call her. I'm not good with the calling my kids; I always think they'll be doing something fun or having a good time or just be busy, and I'll interrupt them. Shirl was something of an intrusive mother, so I've always been fighting against being that. If only I could think of something to tell her that I hadn't foolishly already emailed her today. Must think that through next time.

The weather turned reasonably pleasant this afternoon, no wind, finally. Lately, the temperature readings have been in the high 40s, but it's still damn cold out there. The wind's been blowing constantly since mid-February, it seems. I know March is supposed to be the windy month -- didn't we always put little kites on the March calendar pages we made when we were little kids? -- but enough is enough already. It hit 50 today, and I went out in just a t-shirt and sweater, no jacket. Of course, hot flashes play a little part in there somewhere, but I loooove going out and being in the car without the bulk of wearing a jacket. Hope it's no worse tomorrow.

Should I call? No? Maestro, a little Jeopardy music, please.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching The Simpsons
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here