the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Oooh, Smoking 1071

03.29.2006

4:33 pm

I'm going to let the smoking thing go, even though I wrote another rant about it, which I just erased. It's just that ...

.
.

No. I'm going to let it go.

.
.

I am.

There. I'm fine now.

It was an amazingly beautiful, first real day of spring day today. Due to a change in the school schedule -- there was an assembly -- I went out for Dunkin Donuts coffee mid-morning instead of to the cafeteria, and it was heaven, not just the coffee, but getting out.

I got all excited this morning, because I got back some stuff from the copy room that I'd put in for, and now I have scads of little forms to cut up on the paper-cutter. That's it folks, the highlight of my professional career. There is virtually nothing to do, so I'm all turned on by having paper to cut into smaller pieces. So glad I went back for the second Master's degree; it really makes a difference.

I did put together the final notice on what's going on in the library, closing dates and other stuff people should know -- no photocopier, folks, sorry -- and got that approved by the principal, who was extremely pleasant today. I'll have to talk to him while he's having lunch at his desk from now on, or something, because he was in an excellent mood. (Not that he's moody like the Psycho; he's generally just bland.) I'll post all of notices on the library website tomorrow. Our last day open is April 7, next Friday, after which we'll be moving into exile. Hey, as long as I have a job to go back to. They had originally said we'd be moving to the new library in November, which I figured meant January, but now they're saying October. I can't imagine that this is the world's first and only construction project to finish ahead of schedule, but we'll see. At least I saw them starting to put up the outer wall of the new library today, so that's encouraging.

It's Wednesday, so I'm expecting R to arrive within the hour for dinner and Lost. (Somehow, America's Next Top Model has worked itself in there, too, but, whatever.) I didn't talk to her yesterday; I also went to bed last night before the Hubs got home from teaching. (I didn't fall asleep, of course, but I tried to.) These are big steps for me, being relaxed enough not to need to keep tabs on everyone and his/her safety at all times. I certainly would have called R if I wanted to, but I was relaxed and didn't feel the need. My hormones must be amazingly well-balanced this week. I wonder if normal people feel like this all the time.

Anyway, looking forward to a lovely evening. Once again, this grown-up kids thing can be very cool.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching nothing
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here