the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

I Forgot 1094

04.23.2006

3:37 pm

I thought about writing all day yesterday, and then I just forgot. Because my life is so exciting. I think that perhaps I watched 9 episodes of SVU yesterday. Possibly 10.

I got a whole bunch of things done yesterday morning, and yet there was more to do today. I needed to pick up a token gift for the SCM for his 60th birthday, which is today, but I needed something to bring in tomorrow. I got two balloons and I wanted some kind of "over-the-hill" t-shirt, but I could find no such thing. After the pedi this morning, my sister took me to a drug store in her town with a huge gift shop, and I got him a mug there. The Colleague and I are splitting the cost of the mug and balloons, which came to $12.00. We are the splurgers, are we not?

I also went to Target this morning and got new bathroom towels. Apparently this is something that occurs in my marriage once every 28 years, so I'm all excited. I did get a few new, un-matching towels about 15 years ago, and when R graduated from college, I incorporated her school towels into my bathroom. The Hubs says he would be very happy to keep using our original towels, which are now roughly the consistency of Kleenex. The funny thing is that I've been washing these new towels, in small batches, and there's so much lint in the dryer! New towels make so much lint! Who knew?

And now the really funny thing. Are you sitting down? I joined a gym. Even funnier, I joined a gym that doesn't exist.

Okay, an explanation. I had seen a trailer with signs on it in the parking lot of a strip mall in a nice town nearby; I go to the upscale supermarket there sometimes. I checked out the website for this gym, which is currently under construction and which will open in the fall. It's a health club and spa, just for women. What can I say. It looks really nice. So I left a deposit of one month's membership. It's expected to open September 1st, and there's a 10 day money back guarantee. And they gave me a tote bag, which, since I'm a total tote bag whore, really sealed the deal. Will I go? I'll have ten days to decide, I guess, once they open, which will be the week before schools starts and the first week of school, so I guess that's a good test. It looks like they have a lot of nice features, including a decent amount of personal trainer consultation. More to come on that one in September.

The sun is coming out, which is certainly the first time in two days and, I think, not predicted for the next two, either. I had to turn the heat on again this morning, this after needing the A/C on Thursday.

Okay, I'm fading away now, so maybe it's naptime. Gotta gear up for tonight's SVU marathon.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching channel surfing
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here