the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Well, This is Different 1121

05.21.2006

7:33 pm

I'm living my ordinary life here, but the Hubs is, as I mentioned, in Minneapolis. (Which prompted my OldFriend to say on the phone last night, from her East Village digs in lower Manhattan, "Gee, he really knows how to live.") It is just so unfamiliar to me, to be alone in the house overnight (although yes, he was in Atlantic City for a night two weeks ago, but he was home by 8 am.) I'm not complaining; I would feel like dirt if I did that, considering the number of women I know who have lived long stretches of their lives in their homes alone, or continue to do so. I'm just saying, it's an adjustment.

For one, less than an hour after he left this morning, the doorbell rang, and I looked out the door to see a strange man on the porch and a flashy sports car pulled up at my curb, parked at an angle and on the wrong side of the street. Maybe he was lost, but I did not answer the door. If he was lost, he didn't need to come to my random house. (The thirty or so houses on my block are fifteen feet apart from each other.) Hey, maybe I watch too much SVU, and I'm paranoid. Even so. This is not Mayberry; you don't open your door to strangers like that.

Then I took a shower and thought "Ooh, creepy taking a shower in the house alone!" And then I remembered, moron, that I take a shower in the house alone every damn day, since I wake up after the Hubs has left for work.

R came over around two, and we headed off to Wonderful Niece's graduation dinner. We went to the same place we had her bridal shower last year, in Edgewater, right on the Hudson. It was an iffy weather day, but it cleared up while we were there, sitting in front of big windows, and damn, what a view. How strange to be in New Jersey and still be able to see the individual cars moving down the West Side Highway in the city, right across the river. It was a long, narrow table, so I barely spoke to my sister at all, since we were separated by several people, but R and I sat across from Wonderful Niece's twin brother, Best Guy in the World, and since we don't see him often enough, that was nice. He and his girlfriend seemed very happy together, and we love her, too.

And then home. I've put out the trash for tomorrow, and everything is locked up tight. What am I doing? Watching more SVUs, of course. (The Hubs gave me season 2 for Mother's Day, if I didn't mention that before. Two more to go to finish the season.)

A couple of people mentioned in my comments that at least I won't have someone pulling off the covers in bed, and of course, my first thought when he told me he was going was "Room in the bed! Falling asleep with the TV on!" So I've got that to look forward to.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching SVU
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here