the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

News Flash 1124

2006-05-24

13:45

I was busy at work today.

Of course, I have practically not been there at all lately, so I did have some things to catch up on. First a bit of a website update, and then I looked over the letter I'd already written to the principal, resigning as webmaster, which I was planning to give him next Tuesday, the day after Memorial Day. I changed a few words here and there, and re-dated it for Friday, May 26, printed out a bunch of copies, put them in envelopes, and I'm ready to go. I'm giving it up as of the last day of school, or at least, that's my plan. I don't see how they can claim that the school year goes to June 30, but in a sense, they can. I don't think they would have any standing to try and make me do it after that. As it is, it's technically a school-year position -- September through June -- although I have always done lots of work on it in the summer, but that's just me. And they make me re-apply for it each September, so technically, all I would really have to do is not re-apply. But it's only fair to give them a shot at finding someone else before school ends. Not that they're fair to anyone, but still.

So then I started working on a little manual, of sorts, on how to run the website. It's only about five pages long, whcih means it's only scratching the surface. I'm not sure how many pages and/or files there are in the site, but I'd guess 200 or so. I really don't know how a classroom teacher who doesn't have my flexible schedule could possibly do it. But I'll give my files to whomsoever that poor sucker turns out to be, and help them with whatever they need. I just don't wanna do it myself anymore.

And the rest of my day was ... you guessed it, more work on the website. In this case, it was posting the summer reading assignments for the English department. I'm supposed to get little campaign ads for the student government elections too, from the various candidates, but they're slow coming in.

I'm looking forward to a normally and pleasantly busy Wednesday evening as well, since it's Lost day, and tonight is Lostapalooza, with three hours of it. (Although I think the first hour may be given over to R and American Idol, since that Lost is only a clip show anyway. I wish I'd'a watched Idol this year. Maybe I'll get back to it next.) R pointed out the other day, when will she come over and se us and do her laundry now that there's no more Lost on Wednesdays? All her weekly structure is gone.

As for me, school ends in a little over an hour, and I would like a piece of pie. I like pie. I especially like warm apple pie with vanilla ice cream on the side, although right now I'm thinking lemon meringue, or especially, key lime. I like key lime pie very much. Unfortunatley for me, I have left my tic-tacs, my only source of food at school, home.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching time pass
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here