the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

The Word of the Day 1128

05.28.2006

5:44 pm

is shvargh. (And thanks to mel for using it the other day and putting it back in my head.) I am very shvargh.

Not emotionally, or mentally, just physically. I am exhausted the moment I wake up, and there is no point in the day at which I acquire energy. I keep taking naps, but I never feel that I actually sleep. I am wasted, worn out, stepped on. Shvargh, you know.

The height of today's energy level was dragging myself out for a pedicure. (Oh, and then I went to Target for a sale on toilet paper, so I guess I did do something useful.) It's hot out, but the a/c is humming along nicely. I'm all caught up on my SVUs, but there are four on tonight, so that should occupy me during my wakeful state.

My cats are just insane. Here, I don't know if I've ever told this story before, but the Sibs was once trying to explain why a dog she had just wasn't right for her household -- she found him a better home -- by asking "You know how it is with animals, they get to know your rythym, and when we walk around the house, they learn to walk so they're not in your way." My mouth dropped open. No, I didn't know that, I replied; I have cats. They make a point of walking in your way to make sure you never forget that they are graciously letting you live in their house. Which, if you have cats, you know.

But they're intensifying this little trick lately; I especially hate it when I'm stepping over one of them and that's when s/he moves, so that I have to adjust the trajectory of my foot in midair, not to mention grab something closeby before I hit the floor. And in this heavy napping phase, I have been awakened three or four times in the last 24 hours my Q's hairy face peering into my own and extremely close range.

Oy.

I've got a pain in my arm, which I'm certain is Deep Vein Thrombosis, because that's just the kind of gal I am. (I know that it isn't. Among other things, my arms are too skinny for any veins to be particularly deep. The vein on my arm that's pinging me is right on the surface, and it isn't hot or bumpy or anything.) Apparently though, I do have tendonitis, which I don't know if I've mentioned before. I really must go to the doctor on this, this week if possible. I was pretty sure that's what it was, thanks to WebMD, but the school nurse said so, too. I can guarantee that my tennis elbow is not from playing tennis. I'm told there's a shot the doctor can give me, which icks me out, but, what.ever. Just to complete my saga, I think I may have also chipped a bone on the side of my hand when I klutzily banged it into a doorframe a couple of weeks ago. I am a joy to behold.

And tomorrow, as the mall opens, I have a lesson scheduled at the Apple store. One of the things I do a lot is work with my pictures, and I'm not yet pleased with the built-in Mac system for doing that (which is called iPhoto.) With any luck, they'll give me an iPhoto Genius to talk to, since I specified that as the topic of my lesson. This going in for lessons thing is very cool, actually. Try that with a Dell.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching 100 Greatest Kid Stars (VH1)
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here