the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Catching Up

2006-06-09

11:22

Okay, I didn't write yesterday because things just conspired against me there, and I probably won't get to write later at home, so I'm emailing this in from work. I didn't expect to be near a computer much at work today, either, but here I am.

Wednesday night was the faculty dinner, where my little speech for the Chum went very well and we had a nice time and ate like total pigs. I'm thinking that maybe the best thing to do for a good night's sleep is to have a canoli and a cup of coffee every night at 8:30, because I slept great Wednesday night.

Yesterday we started finals here, which means that I am on duty recording everybody's lost textbooks, as I do every year, but it's slower than usual -- which is good -- and that's how I'm getting to spend a half hour at my desk in the not-library today. Anyway, after lunch yesterday, when the Chum and I were just picking up coffee to bring back for the afternoon, R called me on my cell and was all upset. Problems at work, problems in the apartment. I asked if she wanted me to come there right after school, but she said no, she'd rather escape by coming home. When I got home, I just crashed on the couch, then K called for a regular mid-week call and then R was there (and we went out for dinner, etc.), so I never got to type an entry. In case you were wondering.

Tonight we are going to a sort of wedding. One of the Hubs' young buddies from work is getting married this afternoon in a civil ceremony and then they are taking a bunch of folk out for dinner. I'm not in on the ceremony (although the Hubs is), but I'm on call for dinner. No time to write then either.

And tomorrow we have that funeral to go to. I may need to shop after school today briefly for something to wear to that. I know I said something the other day about how one of the wives was a good friend of mine in junior high school, but one of the others was actually my mean-girl tormentor one summer at camp, so I've never been a fan of hers, although really, that's not a grudge I'm holding after forty years. It's not like I think she's going to start picking on me at the funeral; we were all very cordial and pleasant as adults. Even so, you're seeing old school pals, you want to look put together and then not have to think about it any more.

I'm pretty sure I have a sinus infection; I have all the signs. Too bad what I don't have is the time to see a doctor and get me some antibiotics. Although I have an appointment with my regular doctor -- not the ENT I see for sinus problems -- next Saturday, so if I still have it then, maybe he'll give me something. I did make an appointment to get my hearing aids checked, though, for after school is over and I'm back from DC with K.

Okay, that's it then. See you tomorrow.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here