the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Faster Than a Speeding Bullet 1160

06.30.2006

6:23 pm

More powerful than a locomotive!
Able to leap tall buildings in a single bound!

Look! Up in the sky!
It's a bird ...
It's a plane ...
It's SUPERMAN!

Yes, it's Superman, strange visitor from another planet who came to earth with powers and abilities far beyond those of mortal men. Superman ... who can change the course of mighty rivers ... bend steel in his bare hands ... and who, disguised as Clark Kent, mild-mannered reporter for a great metropolitan newspaper, fights a never-ending battle for truth, justice, and the American way!

**deep sigh**

I love me my Superman.

I may see the new movie, and even in the theatre, but it's really the whole Superman character and mythology that I love. I remember watching the original TV show with George Reeves from as far back as my memory goes; I remember dreaming about it when I was still wee. I was seven when I got my first Superman comic book, beginning a love affair that lasted for years. I still have my comics, roughly 400 of them, boxed in the attic. About a month ago, a GSA meeting descended into a bizarre argument over who was better, Superman or Batman, but there's really no room for discussion. Superman is to the superhero as Oedipus is to the tragic hero: the personification of the definition. Case closed.


In other news, Star Jones. Does anybody actually care?


Fists raised in triumphant salute -- that would be my fists -- K got her job this afternoon. They called her less than an hour after she got home from her second interview. She has training on Wednesday and then they'll start giving her hours. She really needs the structure, poor thing; she always has. This being at loose ends is not good for her. She was the only little kid I ever knew who got stressed out by school vacations.

I gathered together with the Sibs today so we could make reservations for the upcoming mandatory trip to Florida over Labor Day weekend for my cousin's son's Bar Mitzvah. I figured we'd fly down on Friday and back on Sunday, but the Sibs and her hubs would like to spend some time there, maybe go to the beach, go to a giant outlet mall near there, and so on. You may (or may not) recall my last trip to Florida with the Sibs and her hubs, for a funeral in April. Yes, definitely, give me extra days there with them. That should be a barrel of laughs.

So I told her that on the last trip, he never spoke to me, and I found that to be not a social experience I would seek out. Anyway, this is once again turning into a trip that's all on their terms, but maybe this time I'll get to eat when I'm hungry. She's also bringing along her 16-year-old (who is her hubs' from a previous marriange) since she doesn't want to leave him home alone, and frankly, that's fine with me. He'll occupy his father a bit, and he's really quite pleasant and conversational with me, so either way, it's an improvement. I could pass on the extra day and the outlet mall, but whatever. I wish I could have convinced her to take an earlier flight home, though. The choices were 12:30 or 5:00. I knew that getting up and getting to the airport for a 12:30 flight would be impossible for them, but it always seems to me that the later in the day the flight is, the more likely it is to be delayed. If we're out of Florida by 8:00 that night, I'll be amazed.


I finished reading Middlesex this morning, a very interesting book. Quite well-written; I think it won a Pulitzer, actually.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching MASH
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here