the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Because I'm All One Piece 1249

10.01.2006

3:12 pm

Back in the 80s, when Mr. Rogers was all the rage, R was content to watch his show since it came on after Sesame Street, but K could not abide him. She found him irritating and annoying, called him Mr. Foo-Foo, and either turned the TV off or left the room when he came on. Nevertheless, I do remember some of his segments; I loved the tour of the crayon factory, for example. (But the puppets creeped me out, too.) And he had this little song to help explain to children how their bodies grow, so that they would understand that their feet or head could not suddenly grow huge because this is not the way it works. (Who knew that children could be concerned about such things?) The song went:

Everything grows together
Because you're all one piece.
Your eyes grow as your feet grow
As your nose grows as your everything grows
Because you're all one piece.

Which is just to say that all of me is just one piece, and it is one big hurtin' piece today. I think the only muscles that don't hurt are in my ears, assuming there are muscles in the ears. On my way home from the gym this morning in a driving rain, I was thinking that everything hurt except my face and head, but then my sinuses must have looked out at the weather and they started up, and then I stopped into CVS for a minute and their hearing-aid jamming static assualted me and the headache set in.

Other than that ...

Fall has set in, starting on Friday, and going on, apparently. What's odd is that our trees haven't even started turning color, let alone lost their leaves, although I expect that to start before the end of the week. The air is crisp and nice, and if the leaves never fell, I could live with this weather year-round. I did have to put on a fall jacket to go out this afternoon, though, and I could pass on that. (Although it was warmer by the time I came home.)

School is closed tomorrow, and my plan is to bring my car in for service -- we're dropping it off tonight, actually -- and then be here for the phone repairman from 8 to noon. Yeah, we'll see how that works. K isn't scheduled to work tomorrow, either, so once the phone guy's gone, I won't be a prisoner in the house until my car is ready, so let's hope we can do a few things. She woke up cranky today, and it's passed now, but tomorrow is another day, and who knows?

(There is no school tomorrow because it is Yom Kippur, which is the holiest day of the Jewish year. In this part of the country, there are enough Jewish teachers and students to make it pointless to keep school open, and so they close. I do not observe religious holidays myself, of course; I wasn't raised to. But this is a solemn holiday, also known as the Day of Atonement. Those who observe will fast from sundown tonight until sundown tomorrow, and will spend most of the day tomorrow in the synagogue. Take a look here if you want to know more about it.)





--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching some movie
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here