the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Let's Recap 1287

11.08.2006

7:12 pm


In case you hadn't heard, the Democrats won the House of Representatives.

And have probably won the Senate, although that won't be confirmed until the recount in Virginia.

And one of the evil three, Donald Rumsfeld, has resigned, just days after his leader avowed his confidence in Rumsfeld and that he would remain Secretary of Defense throughout the rest of his term.

Well. A happy news day all around. It is very nice to feel suddenly enfranchised, despite how illusory it might be. We have been told for some time that the majority of the country feels a certain way, and that those of us in the bi-coastal so-called blue states have opinions and beliefs that do not count. The fact that these states actually contain more people has been ignored. But now it appears that more people are thinking blue these days than red. An interesting development, that.

In other news, it is raining and flooding somewhat Biblically today, which is not pleasant. It caused a certain amount of delay for me, anyway, after school, since R had trouble getting to me from work, but we got to the doctor's office on time, where I then waited endlessly. But the results are good. The break is healing well, and I can now wear a much lighter brace, the one I originally got when they thought it was a sprain. I can bend my knee, and I CAN DRIVE!! Woot!

So tomorrow, I drive. We have the next two days off from school for teacher's convention -- long story, very few teachers actually go -- and I can't even wrap my brain around all the things I want to try to get done. But I can get a haircut and a facial on Friday. Once again, may I say, Woot!

In the meantime, we ordered pizza for dinner like, three days ago -- okay, it was an hour and a half -- and we're still waiting. I know it's raining and stuff, but come on. It just ain't right.

More from the ambulatory and motorized front tomorrow.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Simpsons
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here