the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

How The Niece Saved Thanksgiving 1300

11.21.2006

4:08 pm


But first:

LA! What up? Comment me.

Okay, talked to my sister last night, and I gingerly touched upon Thanksgiving, asking when she wanted me to come and help her Wednesday after school. (She doesn't.) We got to talking about how much calmer she seems about the whole thing, which she certainly was, and I asked what had brought about this change.

Her daughter -- Wonderful Niece -- had also listened to her whole tale of anxiety and how she hates the sameness of Thanksgiving ad infinitum, and finally, Wonderful Niece told her she was just going to have to get over it, because this is the way it is and nothing is going to change.

I wish I'd said that.

So there we are. I still feel like I'm once burned, twice shy, but the crisis seems to be averted for now.

Oh, I posted my stupid Rockettes thing just before. It's here.

So now I'm home, I've posted, and I really should start getting things together for tomorrow. At the very least, I've got to clean out the fridge and gather together the things I do have to bring to the Sibs tomorrow afternoon, which is the soda, some paper goods, some canned stuff. That'll get it out of my way as well as make more room in the car on Thursday for the actual food we'll be bringing over.

I'm going to get started now. Really.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Ellen
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here