the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

As a Matter of Fact 1317

12.08.2006

5:58 pm


I do have shingles, but it's too late to get the antiviral drugs for it because it started almost a week ago. It's not a severe case, and it'll just have to run its course. By this time tomorrow, I expect to be bathing in calamine lotion.

It was also time to bid farewell to my doctor, as he is retiring at the end of the month. I guess I've been going to him for 25 years, more, I think. I got misty when I thanked him, and thanked him for taking good care of my father all those years. I hope he has a wonderful retirement; he's earned it. Also, after telling me about his replacement doctor, I told him the name of the doctor in another practice I was thinking of using, and he was very enthusiastic, said he'd referred people there in the past, and heartily approved of my plan. So I'll make an appointment for my physical there in January.

We were heatless in the library today -- in the whole new building, I believe -- and it was pretty cold out, too. This was my first day in full regalia of winter coat, hat, gloves, and scarf, and I ended up wearing most of it indoors, too. (Not the hat or gloves.) Mr. My-Door happened by in the afternoon and we all had an extremely pleasant and cordial chat: Mr. My-Door, the SCM, the head of the maintenance department, and I. He really can be a mensch when push comes to shove. We were talking about our kids and all. Very relaxed and pleasant.

I have no plans for the weekend at the moment, which is probably a good move for me. I may drop by Sears and look at the Lands End jackets, because once again, I need The. Warmest.Jacket.Ever, and I printed out a couple of them from the website, but I wwant to try them on. When I was a teenager, I wore woolen stadium coats, the kind with toggle buttons across the opening, and they were great, but such things no longer seem to exist. Or maybe I was less susceptible to the cold then, but I seriously doubt it. I think I've been cold ever since I was born in a January blizzard, and I still am, except when I'm having a hot flash.

I'm still looking for one more thing for the Hubs for Christmas. Maybe I'll find him something in Lands End. (Ho ho ho.) Damn, he's hard to shop for.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Still Standing
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here