the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Humming Along

02.04.2003

7:53 pm

I came across a page of quotations in somebody�s diary yesterday, and since I have a few that I enjoy, I thought I�d do that, too. Then I started working on it, and damn, there are a lot of those things that always seemed to say something to me, more than I realized. I�m still working on it.

I was thinking I�d put it in quotations from movies, books, and especially those gems that smart people said once, like my favorite from Edmund Burke (who shared my birthday, by the way) that's at the bottom of my page. I have this on my desk at work, too, along with several other good ones.

I thought I�d put in lines from songs that I like, but then, that seemed tough. I mean, what�s a line from a song unless you can hear the whole song? Then I thought about the songs that I especially like.

About 15 years ago, before I ever heard that teenagers everywhere were making �mix� tapes, I made one for myself. I was spending a lot of time in the car with the kids; I was a camp counselor that summer at a great camp so that they could go for free. It was about a 45 minute drive each way, so I made a tape of all my favorite songs (among others that I made, a lot of Raffi, as I recall) for the long rides. I called it my Magic Tape. I�ve changed it over the years, adding songs that I just thought of and taking some out; now that it�s on CD, we just call it The Magic. The girls each have a copy, too.

So, until I get my quotations page up, this will have to do. I have about 30 different mix CDs of one kind or another, but The Magic is still the best one. These are songs that when I hear them, I smile, and go �ahhh.� The second best is the one I call Loud Singing Songs. I only play this one when I�m alone in the car, and I blast it as loud as I can stand, and sing along. Sometimes I drum on the steering wheel, too.

The Magic

1. Circle - Harry Chapin

2. Morning Has Broken � Cat Stevens

3. I Wanna Hold Your Hand � The Beatles

4. She Loves You � The Beatles

5. I Will � The Beatles

6. Here, There and Everywhere � The Beatles

7. Rocky Mountain High � John Denver

8. Country Roads � John Denver

9. Matthew � John Denver

10. Positively Fourth Street � Bob Dylan

11. Daydream Believer � The Monkees

12. San Francisco � Scott Mackenzie

13. Every Day � Buddy Holly

14. Wouldn�t it Be Nice? � The Beach Boys

15. Precious and Few � Climax

16. Do You Believe in Magic? � The Lovin� Spoonful

17. Chances Are � Johnny Mathis

18. Walkin� in the Rain � Jay and the Americans

19. This Old Heart o� Mine � The Isely Brothers

20. Heat Wave � Martha Reeves and the Vandellas

21. City of New Orleans � Arlo Guthrie

22. World Without Love � Peter and Gordon

23. A Summer Song � Chad and Jeremy

24. Bright Side of Life � Monty Python

Loud Singing Songs

1. Glad All Over � The Dave Clark 5

2. Bristol Stomp � The Dovells

3. Dancing in the Moonlight � Van Morrison

4. Who Put the Bomp? � Barry Mann

5. Dawn � The Four Seasons

6. Different Drum � Linda Ronstadt

7. Heat Wave � Martha Reeves and the Vandellas

8. Happy Together � The Turtles

9. Aquarius/Let the Sun Shine In � The 5th Dimension

10. Heartbeat, It�s a Lovebeat � The DeFranco Family

11. I�m Into Something Good � Herman�s Hermits

12. Jump in the Line � Harry Belafonte

13. La Bamba � Ritchie Valens

14. Macho Man � The Village People

15. Sweet Surrender � John Denver

16. The Lion Sleeps Tonight � The Coasters

17. Walk Like a Man � The Four Seasons

18. The Hammer Song � Peter, Paul, and Mary

19. This Land is Your Land � Peter, Paul and Mary

20. The Rainbow Connection � Kermit the Frog

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here