the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

The SCM: True to Form

02.28.2003

9:37 am

My co-worker in the library is a Self-Centered Man. He is a nice man, but he can't understand anything unless it comes through the filter of him. Get this one:

There is another teacher in the school whom I have know for more than 30 years; oddly, she was a student-teacher in my eleventh grade history class, and here we both are, working together. We were pregnant together 22 years ago, and our children grew up as friends. We shared nursery-school family picnics and birthday parties. Although we are not so close these days, we are friendly in school and have a long history.

So, this past Monday, she came into the library early in the day to see how I had done with my little eyelid surgery two weeks ago, just before our winter break. She saw a substitute sitting at my desk, and asked the SCM:

"Oh, isn't Chai in school today?"

This didn't register with him as any kiind of clue, and secure in his delight with knowing things that other people don't know, he responded:

"Did you really think she'd be here today after what happened to her father?"

Now horrified, she said,

"Oh, no, he didn't have another heart attack, did he?"

And the wonderful SCM said,

"No, he's dead."


Wait, it gets better.

She cannot speak for a moment, and is then able to ask, "When did it happen?" And this is his reply:

"Well, let me see. My wife and I were going away for a few days. We were going to Lambertville; we go there for a few days every year for our anniversary. I can't believe we've been married for over 20 years already. We go to the same bed and breakfast every year; we've been going there for ... oh, it must be six years now ...." etc. etc. etc. "So it must have been Wednesday."

When I spoke to her on the phone that night, she was still in shock, not just from hearing that my father had died, but from the conversation she had had with him.

Is this guy an asshole, or what?

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here