the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

'Splain it to me 204

08.09.2003

5:43 pm

Perhaps anyone out there would be good enough to explain this to me like I'm a four year old.

I look at my stats sometimes, and under the heading Hosts, I see ... well, I'm not sure just what this is, something that shows the source/location someone was at when they viewed my page. Right?

In some cases, it's pretty clear just where these places are. I mean, there was a time a few months ago when I could see pretty clearly that someone who went to my daughter's college and actually lived in her dorm was looking at my site. The location included the name of the university, then .edu, and then the name of the dorm. So I knew.

And some of the others, well, I just know; it's obvious. (I took out some of the beginning of each one; I think that identifies the individual, but maybe not.) Here's one:

--------.Berkeley.EDU

So that's at UC Berkeley, right?

And another:

--------.pcs.mgh.harvard.edu

Got that one, too.

Here's one that stumped me for awhile, and it was there everyday, but now I've got it:

--------.dyn.optonline.net

It's me.

But what are these?

Yahoo--------.bbtec.net
--------.ne.client2.attbi.com
--------.prov.east.verizon.net
--------.ppp.netnitco.net
--------.dsl.tpkaks.swbell.net
--------.ab.hsia.telus.net
205.232.86.58
--------.nv.iinet.net.au
fw.BRFG.com
--------.powerpulse.cc
--------.rivrw5.nsw.optusnet.com.au

I mean, I've seen people note in their diaries that people are looking at their pages from here, there and everywhere. I've got that cute little guestbmap, but no one's used it but me and inkdragon, so that's not how I would know. I'm curious. I know that these stats will tell me where you all are, generally.

Right?

And how, exactly?

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching not a damn thing on
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here