the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Aftermath 210

08.16.2003

9:48 am

The aftermath of the blackout is that we lost a day of getting K ready to go back to school, but not much more. A couple more trips to the supermarket and I'll have everything in the fridge replaced. In the meantime, I'm doing laundry and assembling stuff for her in one place. Turns out to be a good thing that R's on her road trip to Arizona this week (arriving there tonight, I believe), since we can use her room as the staging area. We'll just load up the car Tuesday night before she gets home. And she'll never be the wiser. In the meantime, a day late and not so much to say, but here's my Five:

1. How much time do you spend online each day?
Hours and hours. Having a laptop on my desk with a broadband connection means that online is now just part of the computer being there. If I need to look something up for a minute, it's there. As for continuous time online, it varies from day to day, but most days, anywhere from 30 minutes to four or five hours. It depends. When I'm working on one of the school websites, way more.

2. What is your browser homepage set to?
At work, it's set to the high school homepage, which I created and maintain. At home, it's set to a page I made that stays on my hard drive, and that has links to a lot of the places I like to go. But I almost never go to the homepage. I almost always start up the Internet from the Links menu or by typing an address into the Start/Run box.

3. Do you use any instant messaging programs? If so, which one(s)?
I have an AOL IM account but it's almost never used. I'm not good at it, not quick enough. I only have four people in my buddy list (my two kids, my Sibs, my Chum), but Sibs and Chum are never on when I am, so I've never even IM'd them. The kids are like lightning with it, and I can't keep up. I've had maybe two useful IM conversations in all.

4. Where was your first webpage located?
Homestead! I did my Masters project -- about 120 pages -- on Homestead, which is how I first started learning to make webpages. It was terribly terribly glitchy and not compatible with anything else. I managed to copy most of my pages into HTML (which Homestead somehow didn't quite use; they used some proprietary version of HTML) before they started charging for web hosting, so I saved it before I let it go.

5. How long have you had your current website?
I started this diary last October, 2002. I've had the two high school websites since about 2000, I think, and I maintain a few others for the school (clubs and such) that were started since then. I also started a site to be a weblog for just my family last winter, but I haven't been good about keeping it up. I'll work on it more when R goes over to live in Wales. I'm looking for good software. Any reccommendations for either Moveable Type or RadioUserland? Thanks.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Best in Show
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here