the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Saint Isidore, Please! 226

09.06.2003

10:56 pm

Saint Isidore is paying absolutely no attention to me these days. Not that he should be for any special reason (such as "I'm praying," or, for that matter, Catholic) but I am a nice person, well-meaning, and trying really really hard to do my job.

On Friday, I got to work early, all ready to start transferring the new kids' information from the format I got it in and into the library management software, which would let them check out library books, and would assign them the barcode numbers they need on their I.D. cards.

Ooops. Conversion program mysteriously gone. But resourceful little me has saved the old barcode stickers I stopped using, so I all I have to do is print out dummy cards for all of them, stick barcodes on each one, and enter them by hand typing them all into the I.D. card program. right?

Ooops. I turned on the old laptop they gave me last year for the I.D. card program and the screen is shot. There is no display. I connected it to a monitor, which sits about a foot and half above the computer (the only available spot) and so it's like the monitor is over my right shoulder as I type.

Ooops. I was going to bring home the laptop this weekend and type it all in. So I didn't do that.

And Saint Isidore is clearly messing up my karma with whoever is the patron saint of guts, since, as it turns out, I wouldn't have been able to do any of it anyway since I was doubled over in pain all afternoon thanks to a little bout of the diverticulosis.

Gee, I'm cranky tonight.

But my pain is better, thank you Advil, and I'm getting some of the other stuff done, like putting all the stickers on. And tomorrow is the engagement party of my wonderful niece (who is also sick, as is my sister/her mother), so no work tomorrow.

And R is having a Disney film festival tonight. (Remember, she's 22. But then, these are my own videos.) We just watched Aladdin, and then she popped in an old favorite, Donald in Mathmagic Land. She says she got it for Christmas when she was in second grade, and who am I to argue with her? The Little Mermaid is just starting up as we speak, uh, as I write.

*sigh*The Friday Five.*sigh* Haven't I been through this before?

1. What housekeeping chore(s) do you hate doing the most?
All of them.

2. Are there any that you like or don't mind doing?
I don't mind ironing, but I rarely have the opportunity (or time) for it.

3. Do you have a routine throughout the week or just clean as it's needed?
A routine throughout the week? You mean, like, clean every week?
No, no routine.

4. Do you have any odd cleaning/housekeeping quirks or rules?
Only if you think it's odd that I virtually never clean unless the mood strikes all of a sudden and then I do one thing and get bored/tired, or hurt myself, and stop. I'm not good at it. I never developed the technique of cleaning anything when there are other people in the house. If I use any cleaning product, everyone complains about the smell. No one complains that the house isn't clean. The house looks clean, it just isn't. If there's any rule here at all, and all of us follow it, it's this motto: Yeah, I'm not doing it, either.

5. What was the last thing you cleaned?
I have no idea whatsover, if this means cleaning something in the house. Well, probably the litterbox; you don't get much choice on that one. Otherwise, the only thing I clean regularly is me.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching The Little Mermaid
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here