the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Complaint of the Day 270

10.30.2003

6:06 pm

Where to begin?

After starting off the day feeling somewhat like a human being, around 10:00 -- just before the fire drill -- someone came into the library absolutely coated in some kind of perfume. It didn't smell bad. It was just overpowering. By the time they rang the all-clear and I trooped back upstairs with the rest of the drones, my head was spinning and I was just too barfy. So here's the perfume rant:

I know it smells good. That's nice. So smell it. I don't need to. In fact, when I do, I get sick. Some people sneeze. I get light-headed and dizzy and barfy and then I don't breathe so well. I really don't think that anybody has the right, for their own vanity, to make other people sick. I don't want samples in my magazines, and I really don't want otherwise perfectly nice people to come into my workspace and by their very existence there, cause me to stop breathing.

I mean, am I wrong here?

In the past, when I've casually mentioned this to people, I've sometimes gotten the answer: Oh, it's not perfume. It's cologne.

What the fuck! I don't know the difference and I don't care. It smells, it's strong, it makes me sick. Case closed.

So at 11:00, I picked my barfy head up off my desk where it was lying cradled in my arms and said to the Colleague and to the SCM "I'm going home now." And I did.

Somewhat better now after an hour of sleep (I actually slept) and a whole lot of fresh air. I turned off the heat and opened a lot of windows. Now I just have that metallic taste in my mouth. It'll probably be gone by tomorrow. (Yes, I brush my teeth! It has no effect. The metallic taste is actually a smell that I still smell, but when I sense it with my taste buds, it tastes metallic. Or so I claim. And believe.)

And anyway, the SCM is driving us absolutely crazy. No details -- I don't even want to remember the details -- but the degree to which he thinks the entire universe revolves around just him is unbelievable. It's like he's a two-year-old. No idea why I just thought of this one, but he does not go to funerals, wakes, or hospitals, with very few exceptions. It's not a fear or anything, it's a preference. He doesn't like to go to funerals. (And everyone else does?) He did go to his father-in-law's funeral, because his wife made him go, and I think he went to the hospital with her when his son was born over 20 years ago. I have never known him to go to a wake, even when Colleague's parents died, which was pretty lousy of him, I thought. I mean, part of being a grown-up is that sometimes you have to do things you don't want to do, right? How did I forget to check the box where it said "Maturity Optional"?

That's two complaints. And I haven't even gotten started on the Financial Aid Office at K's school.

Crap. Better to go finish washing the dishes than go anywhere near that one.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching The Golden Girls
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here