the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Strange But True 422

04.28.2004

5:53 pm

I do not own my own head. Few people know this about me, yet it is oddly true. My sister owns my head. I don't know why I thought of this today; I haven't in quite some time. When I was a young'un, it was a running family joke. My parents were the sort of parents who felt children needed to feel that they had a stake in important things. When I was born, they must have told my sister that "the baby" was "hers." She demanded something a little more tangible, so they told her that it was my head that was hers, hoping, I guess, that she would help take good care of it. During the nasty bossy-big-sister years, she would routinely and randomly forbid me to do things, asserting her ownership status of the head that had to go along with the rest of me when I did them. My parents also gave me ownership of the tree outside my bedroom window when we moved into our house when I was 8. Some years later when they had it cut down, I freaked out. How could they do that? It was my tree.

Also strange but true, when I sat down to type this just now, the escape key was missing off my keyboard. Hmm. I found it behind a pill bottle about six inches away; I'll push it back on later. I have no idea how it got there, or how it got pried off the keyboard. I do speculate sometimes that cats actually have prehensile thumbs, but have also kept it a carefully guarded secret from us, their devoted servants. Cats are capable of great guile, you know.

Also today, the cable boxes are randomly not working, or are capriciously changing to channel 2 without warning. With the exception of Dr. Phil, I don't believe there's a single thing on channel 2 that I watch.

The icing on today's cake is that I do indeed need new glasses but I'm having the lenses put in the frames I already have and which I love -- rimless, it's like they're invisible -- but it will take up to two weeks to get them back and sadly, I have no actual pair of back-up glasses. I have reading glasses, which I'm wearing now -- my nose print is on the computer screen. This sucks, a bit.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching news
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here