the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Spots Here, Spots There 552

10.03.2004

5:31 pm

Thanks to everyone for all the nice comments about my new template. More than one of you -- and I still refuse to believe that there actually are that many of you -- have said that the spots remind you of the dots-on-paper candy of yesteryear. Hmm, me not so much, although I do have a soft place in my heart for that stuff; I remember especially once buying it by the foot at an old fashioned candy shop in Provincetown, on Cape Cod. There's a digression for you. I saw this background and immediately thought "Now that's not just white" and it appealed to me. The only thing that seemed out of place was that I would ever use the color pink at all on anything anywhere. I do not do pink. But I like it. I'm happy with it.

I rarely explain the bizarre titles I often pick for my entries, which are frequently shout-outs to songs, stories, books, whatever, the way they sound in my head when I begin to type an entry. (Okay, that didn't make any sense. Yet I press on.) But this one, after I heard it rattling around in there, gave me pause, I think because I wanted to abuse the whole original quotation, but it wouldn't come out right. In its original form, it's:

"Cats here, cats there.
Cats and kittens everywhere.
Hundreds of cats.
Thousand of cats.
Millions and billions and trillions of cats!"

Which is from one of my most beloved books of all time, Millions of Cats, by Wanda Gag. In case you've never seen this one, here's my copy:



I remember reading this as a child, and when I learned to read picture books in library school, I used it for my exam. The rhyme appears in the story several times, and I would read it with rising emphasis both during the rhyme, and moreso with each repetition. By the third repetition, the children were reciting it along with me, and getting more and more into it. It is one of my best professional memories, if there is such a thing. So now it's a book I've always loved, as well as a terrific memory moment for me.

(That would be, in the picture, Alexander and the Terrible Horrible No-Good Very Bad Day on the left, and The Five Chinese Brothers on the right.)

And furthermore ...

(I just like to say that.)

I stayed up late -- again! -- last night to watch SNL because I figured it was their season premiere and they would really go after the debate this week. Ahhhh .... I should have just gone to sleep. It was pretty disappointing. Where's Will Ferrell when you need him? Looks to me like maybe they could use a new writer on their staff, eh? Wait, I've got this kid who writes ....

Speaking of jobs that R would love to have more than anything, Jon Stewart and the writers of The Daily Show have a new book out which is really very funny. It looks like a textbook, right down to the property stamp inside the front cover with room for kids' names to be written in, but it's their version of an American history book. It's a pisser. Get your hands on it, if you can.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Gilmore Girls
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here