the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Now, These Are Questions! 727

04.15.2005

6:48 pm

Oooh.

1. How often do you get sick? Well, when I was a kid I thought that being stuffy and runny all winter long was the normal state of existence for everyone. When I heard about "post nasal drip" when I was already grown, I was amazed, because before that I just thought that was called "being alive" and that everyone had that all the time, too.

This winter I've felt on the edge of getting sick at least a half dozen times, but I don't think it ever grew into actual illness. But I feel like crap today, and I'm going to the doctor in the morning to see if I have a UTI. Or, as I mentioned the other day, malaria. But probably not.

2. Do you take a lot of over the counter medicine? I take B vitamins and that joint-health stuff and a Flintstones vitamin every day. I take Advil when I can and when I need to. I like Advil very much.

3. Have you ever been in the hospital for an extended period of time? Even for the Big Brain Tumor Removal of 1991, I was only in the hospital for seven days. I'd expected to be there longer. That's my longest hospital stay.

4. Are there any diseases that run in your family? My father and three of my grandparents died of heart/cardiovascular disease and my mother of breast cancer. But those are things that my sister and I (and our children, presumably) can and do take some precautions against. They also passed down what we euphemistically call "bad stomach" (thanks, Mom), insomnia (thanks, Dad) and a tendency towards bipolar and/or depression (thanks, Everyone in Grandma Ida's family).

5. What is the best remedy for the common cold? Time.


Hey, fun, huh? They also passed down a touch of the hypochondria on my mother's side, and if you want to make a hypochondriac happy, ask her about her health.

Seriously, I have now added bladder and entire gastrointestinal system to the list of organs I'd like removed for my own convenience and future happiness. (Previously the list included uterus and maxillofacial sinuses and sometimes, teeth.) I did not have a good day, feeling-crappy-wise, but I was busy at work so that mostly took my mind off it. I was also nastily stressed at work this morning, thanks to everyone around me who conspired to make me crazy, but it turned out to be nothing, just the Psycho flexing her evil synapses again but it turned out she was on the library's side after all. But first she sucked the SCM into her game and he was actually waiting for me in the office this morning when I signed in to make sure he could tell me all about it before I took off my jacket or put down my coffee. Feelings or no, I told him not to do that to me anymore; I could have waited the five minutes to find out for myself. He apologized. He's a freak anyway.

Changing the subject. I just saw a commercial for one of those brightly colored vacuum cleaners with the very English inventor/spokesmodel. I get it; I know he worked forever on it and built it in his basement and made like a thousand prototypes. But here are my questions:


  1. Is it ever likely that I would need to spend all those hundreds of dollars on a vacuum cleaner, of all things, when I could go to Disney World instead?

  2. Doesn't this guy just make you want to run screaming into the street and never vacuum again, let alone want to buy something he's selling?

I'm just asking.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching The Golden Girls
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here