the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Whence "Maxx"? 1103

2006-05-03

10:58

I'm writing at school because I'm anticipating a busy afternoon once I get home, so no reports yet on Maxx. Although I will tell you where I got the name from. It has nothing whatsoever to do with the actual kind of computer it is -- Mac -- and I didn't even make that connection until after I'd posted yesterday's entry and was reading it over.

Possibly the first words I ever spoke were "I want a dog." If they were, then I was copying my sister's first words four years earlier. We always wanted to get a dog, all through our growing up years. My father, who loved dogs, would not have one in his house. He didn't like the "dirty" aspects of a dog -- muddy paws, smelly fur, etc. -- and he knew he would get stuck with walking it. So, no dogs in that house. When my sister got married (the first time), they got a Golden Retriever just a few months later. Elsa the dog was backlash for years of wanting a dog, and although she was sweet as anything, she was big, of course, and relatively dumb, at least for a Golden. But I digress.

My quest for a dog took on the quality of fantasy, and I would from time to time imagine what kind of dog I would get, and what I would name it. Sometime when I was in high school, I read Where the Wild Things Are for the first time, and I thought that if I ever got a dog, I would call it Max.

The Hubs, as I have mentioned before, is not a dog lover, and although I swear that he said before we were married that someday I could get a dog, he does not recall this, and anyway, there's just no point in having a dog that he doesn't want. So the dog fantasy has to remain just that, since dog and husband are incompatible, and for now, I'm keeping the husband.

Okay, I've written some of this before, but here's more on the name thing. Max has pretty much always stuck in my head as a handy name to have in reserve. Years back, I worked as a counselor in a day camp that my kids and my sister's twins went to, the twins being old enough to be among the oldest campers there. Now, what was it that the twins generally called me?

Somehow, when their older brother was born, I had him just call me and the Hubs by our first names, as the Hubs called his aunts and uncles. To me, this was very close and personal and I liked it, but the twins did not want to go that way, for some reason. So from a young age, they called me "Auntie" and consequently, my kids always called my sister Auntie, too. Aw, sweet. Until they were at camp and were maybe 12 or 13 and felt foolish calling me Auntie in front of their friends. So out of nowhere, I said to them one day, "Hey, if you need me, call me Max. With two XXs. Maxx." Several times, they would call out across the playing fields of the camp "Hi, Maxx!" and I would have no idea that they were talking to me. Heh heh.

Well. So my fantasy dog's name became Maxx, with two XXs. And you know when I was in Florida last month, I fell totally in love with my cousin's puppy and now that is my fantasy dog. What breed is that dog? It is a Coton du Tulear. I have since looked it up, but when he told me what it was he said it was "a cotton-something." It's fur is cottony-feeling hair, so it doesn't shed and it's non-allergenic. But again, I digress.

Cotton? Hmm. Is anyone else out there a childhood fan of The Little Rascals? (Our Gang, as they were originally known.) If I saw any episode today, I would recite every word of dialog, atlhough I probably haven't seen one in 35 years, maybe more. Man, I worshipped those short films. And I can't be the only one who remembers Stymie rubbing what he thought was a magic lamp and intoning "I wish Cotton was a monkey. I wish Cotton was a monkey." (Cotton was his dog's name, but he wanted a monkey instead, which he was led to believe he got over the course of the film.)

Anyway. So, for the last few weeks, what I've got stuck in my head is that I want a Coton du Tulear -- which I am never getting -- and I will name it Maxx Monkey. Well, Maxx Monkey would be a very foolish and frivolous name for an elegant little machine like a shiny white laptop, wouldn't it? But when I was typing yesterday's entry, the last one on the PC, I just felt that my new little friend should be known as Maxx. It's only fair that I get to use the name somewhere, after all.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching the clock tick
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here