the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

29 Happy Years! 1176

07.16.2006

9:46 am

(Oh, settle down. It's a Disney World reference.)

I probably tell you this every year, but it bears repeating, because it always made me (and everyone else) laugh. My parents, you know, were married for a really looooong time, 58 years when my mother died. Their anniversary was Christmas day, which is a story for another time. From the time I was a kid, when someone would say to them "Happy Anniversary! How many years?" My father would say "20" (or 25 or 42 or 56 or whatever) and then he would say "And to the same woman; can you believe it?"

Therefore. Ahem. 29 years today. And to the same man. Can you believe it?

We have gifted each other with books and DVDs, as we do. We're going out to dinner tonight with the girls to a vegan Chinese restaurant we go to sometimes. So there ya go.

In the meantime, the painters are all gone, although a door crew has to come back at some point; I'll try to get those arrangements made tomorrow. We did a little shuffling around of furniture in K's room last night when she got back from work, but there's major stuff to do there. We need to get her some shelving, but that'll have to wait, since it's Sunday so we can't go get it today. (Furniture is actually one of the big no-no's in the Blue Laws here. Some stores are open in certain towns because they're not specifically prohibited -- there's a Borders open, for example, and all the pet food stores -- but clothing and furniture and cars specifically CANNOT be sold anywhere at all in Bergen County on Sundays.) I do wish there was a place we could go and get it, though. Ikea doesn't have what we're looking for, which is not really complicated, just those folding bookcases where the sides turn in and they fold flat. In a nice finish. Container Store tomorrow.

It looks like K may be getting more hours at work, which would really be swell for all concerned. She mentioned something to the manager like "See you next week" and the woman was confused and looked at the schedule and said there'd been a mistake and another girl had somehow gotten all the hours K was supposed to get. Hope that works out well.

I listed about a dozen DVDs and tapes on Amazon yesterday. I really don't know what to do with all these things. I don't want to just throw them out, but I don't want the clutter, either. These were mostly things I had to buy for that course I took last year. I made them real cheap. The question is, Who would want them? I guess we'll see.

In other news, we're having a heat wave, it appears; today is the first day of what looks like a nasty week. The a/c fan isn't so much working in K's car, but if she's got work almost every day, I don't know when I can get it fixed. Something else to look into tomorrow.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Today
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here