the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Still Hot 1195

08.02.2006

7:53 pm

I've sold seven used DVDs and tapes on Amazon, five of them in the last few days. I really don't get it. I've made altogether maybe nine cents, because all I wanted was to get rid of the stuff and not take a loss, and it does unfortunately force me to go to the post office, which I hate, but whatever. It's an interesting process.

I also walked away some pounds before; I haven't done that workout video for months and months. I survived. And it made me feel good to do something. Of course, I had gotten on the scale before that -- first time in a month -- and there was really no choice; something had to be done. I really hope that I can get into going to that gym I joined when it opens ... oooh, next month! Something to look forward to in September!

As for the heat, I don't have to tell you. Where R lives, which is actually a small city about twenty minutes away from here, a sewer in the center of town exploded yesterday in some heat-related event, blowing the manhole cover into the air, I believe, and knocking out power for a substantial number of people. She was unaffected, both at home and at work, as she was by last month's tornado that also took the power out. Crazy things are happening in New York City, where people have lost power for a week at a time, only to lose it again a week later.

I'm basically trying not to go out in the afternoon. I really don't remember such intense heat over such a long period of time.

Let me chime in on this Mel Gibson thing, because why not. First, he is a shithead. Second, drunk is drunk, but I don't think random thoughts just come to you and fly out of yourmouth that you never thought of before, and anyway, this isn't new. Third, he's a shithead. Oh, I said that already. Bears repeating. And I don't like his movies, either.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Raymond
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here