the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Well, Then 1208

08.17.2006

3:51 pm



Pirate Monkey's Harry Potter Personality Quiz
Harry Potter Personality Quiz
by Pirate Monkeys Inc.

If I'm Dumbledore, do I win? I mean, who's better than Dumbledore?

I'm also all about the tickers today, since I've been seeing so many cute ones here and there. You'll have to scroll down for the second one, which I'll be leaving there for awhile. I don't have the heart yet to create the ultimate countdown ticker -- that's to retirement, not death -- since for all I know, I could get back to school and just love everything! Hey, it could happen!

For that matter, there was an interview with our school superintendent in the local paper this week, in which he seems to have said that the high school's new addition will be open in mid-October. If that's the case, then at least I won't be sitting around on my ass for months, as I was last year. The first month of school will be consumed, more or less, by getting the student I.D. cards out, and then we'll be moving, which should keep us pretty damn busy for the rest of the year, I'd think, especially considering that we have way less storage space than we had before in the inadequately small library, so we'll be creatively finding places to put things until we die.

Back to the obsessing over the upcoming trip, this time in the Once-Burned-Twice-Shy Department. When we went to Florida in April, we were on, I think, the same flight as this time: leaving around 1, arriving around 5. That time, we got to the hotel and found that there were snacks, of a sort, being served in the lobby: nachos, chips, that kind of thing. Before we even went to the room -- a suite, which I shared with the Sibs and her hubs -- they sat down at a table and started to chow down. I was starving, but was eating carefully (as I am now) and did not want to fill up on the crap before dinner. Then we settled into the room -- by now it was probably six or later -- and they said they wanted to go to the nearby outlet mall. "What about dinner?" I asked. "Oh, we're full," she said, but we could all get something later if we were still hungry. Which you know they weren't when they got back near ten. I had a granola bar for dinner. (Room service was closed by the time I knew they didn't want anything else to eat.)

Now, I know they're not going to the mall that night -- Friday is reserved for Mall Day, god help me -- and they're bringing a teenager, who is likely to want actual meals. Still. I'm trying to think of what I can pack in my baggage (because I can't carry it on) that I can have for dinner that night if I need to. Maybe a couple of peanut butter and jelly sandwiches? How do we imagine those would survive the baggage handlers? I was going to bring a couple of apples and a few other items as well, but packing a couple of bottles of water is dumb because I know I can buy that in the hotel, and if not, certainly in the mall. Hmm, thinking, thinking .... The Amazing Mumford says A La Peanut Butter Sandwiches!

It shall be done.

Speaking of traveling with them, I certainly still have reservations, all of which I sucked up last time because we were, after all, going to a cousin's funeral and it was a very sad situation. The BIL is certainly a peculiar guy -- no less so than my own Hubs, just different quirks -- but I believe he did not speak to me directly the whole time we were there. He spoke to my sister of course, quite animatedly -- his sun rises and sets on her -- and to pretty much everyone else there. But there were a few times that I addressed him directly and got no flicker of recognition that I was even there. I understand that he's an absent-minded-professor type and zones into into academia, but it was pretty weird. His 16 year old son, whom I have called here Little K although by now he's certainly much taller than my K, is joining us, and he, on the other hand, is generally delightful. So I'm glad of that. If he's not distracting his father, he'll happily talk to me. The Sibs says he is a very easy kid to raise, which I imagine is true, but since she has previously raised some very high-stress teenagers, it may be just by comparison. Although I do think Little K is a nice, easy-going kid. Her only other easy-going kid turned up with diabetes when he was 14, and not easily managed diabetes, so that pretty much overshadowed everything. He was still easier than her other two, so that tells you something.

I did my workout video this morning as soon as I got up, which I'd like to be able to do every day, although I don't see that happening. It makes me feel like I'm going in the right direction, and that when the gym I joined opens next month -- halevai -- I'll already be on track. I do hope they open as planned; it was hoped for Labor Day weekend, but I haven't heard anything, so I don't know. Nothing on their website, and no new emails from them. I passed by the other day and all the signs are up, but other than that, there's nothing to see from outside. Best I call them tomorrow, eh?

Do you know what I could go for right now? That's right. Pie.



--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Dr. Phil
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here