the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

T.G.I. Spazday 1215

08.25.2006

4:35 pm



I haven't guessed the day of the week right once this week. From Monday to Wednesday I was sure it was Thursday every day, and yesterday I must have asked K a half dozen times if it was Thursday or Friday. Today, once an hour or so, I stop and ask myself -- she's at work -- "It's ... uh ... Friday?" Because I'm not at work, so really, what's the difference? Anyway, I've officially declared it Spazday, which I mean in the generic sense of spazzing out and not knowing what the hell is going on, as opposed to a slur against a particular group of handicapped people. If anyone takes it that way, I apologize, and let me know that it's a hurtful term and I won't use it anymore.

It's like I'm thinking in dreamlike-bursts of consciousness today. It's apparently not just me, because I talked to my sister for like 45 minutes this morning, and she called me this afternoon and asked if we had talked yet today. And even though we had, she was telling me on behalf of Floyd's Nails that she had just been there and they told her that when the two of us were there on Sunday for our pedicures, I had forgotten to pay. Which I realized instantly that I had.

I'm calling the place Floyd's because it's something like the barber shop on The Andy Griffith Show. The ladies there have this regular clientele and know all of us and all of our backgrounds and family connections and it's a very comfortable place to go. I've been to several of the nail salons in town -- I think there are 30 or more of them, or it just seems that way -- and this one really is different. It's probably part of the reasonh that I've actually kept going for over a year now. I never could keep my nails nice before, just short and functional. They're still on the short side, but nice. You know.

I went to Old Navy before because I had a 10% off coupon and I wanted to pick up a few niew shirts for school. This is what I wear every day: jeans. a tank top or v-neck t-shirt. a button-down shirt, open, over the tank/tee. This is my uniform. (Also Merrell hiking sneakers.) In the summer, I only wear tanks, and almost always wear a denim shirt over that; I have several, including a few that are 20 or more years old and very, very worn. I will wear a newer, nicer denim shirt to school sometimes -- I have one with Mickey and Minnie on it, and another that says "Librarian" with books and kids -- but mostly I wear men's shirts. I roll the sleeves up, but still, it's hard to get the size right. (See my recent rant about sizes and what do small men do?) Anyway, Old Navy online shows Mens XS and Boys XXL Husky, either of which I think would be just right for me, but it seems they do not carry those sizes in the store. I got Men's smalls, which will be a bit voluminous, but that's what I go with.

(In the winter, I generally exchange a cardigan sweater for the shirt. Year-round, I'm all about the layers.)

So I'm sitting here wondering why it's taking K so long to get home from work and I just remembered she told me she was going right from work to get a haircut. What is wrong with me today?



--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Oprah
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here