the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Now, That's Better 1262

10.15.2006

10:27 pm

Spent another day on the road/with the ILs, but it was much better than that travesty we went to last night. This was just the basic ten of us -- MIL and FIL, SIL and her Hubs and two kids, and the four of us -- plus the MIL's baby brother, who's in town for last night's big Mitzvah and is staying several days. His kids live in the area, I think, although we never ever see them, but he has retired to -- are you ready? Costa Rica. Very nice guy. Being the baby brother, btw, means that he's 70. Apparently the two of them, MIL and her brother, were royally insulted last night by their sister, the grandmother of the Mitzvah boy, so maybe now we all really can write off that branch of the family. No objection here.

Anyway, we rode down the Parkway, met at the ILs house in a lovely retirement community, and went out to a great Italian restaurant to eat. Preparing and serving a big meal is just too much for the MIL and her arthritic knees these days, and no one wants to see her do it. Eating out was just fine. I think she'll have Christmas dinner catered, I hope. She put out a helluva meal in her day, but she's earned a rest from it all. It's too far for the SIL and I to bring food, and the MIL isn't ready to give up Christmas yet and have all of us meet at the SIL's big house. In time, perhaps.

What else can I tell you? My icky incision is finally looking like human flesh again, but I seem to have had an allergic reaction to, of all things, the big square band-aids I was using to keep it covered. I have a square outline-shaped welt all around the nice healing-up incision. So that's more ick. I know you're glad I shared.

What I need now is sleeeeeeeeeep.



--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Comedy Central
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here