the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Back it up ... right?

02.13.2003

8:22 pm

Everybody always tells you to back up your files, right? Back up EVERYTHING! they say. Blah blah blah, yeah, back it all up, right, I know, I know, I know.

Too bad that everybody isn't always reminding you to remember where you put your backup disks.

So I spent the day yesterday realizing that the one file I wanted isn't on the hard drive anymore and then tearing apart my desk looking for the backup CD I made who knows how long ago. I was very confident at first, since I never throw anything out, so it's always around here somewhere. Then there was that vague tickling in the back of my mind ... I cleaned my desk, more or less, a few weeks ago, and that CD of old mp3 files, well, I did throw that out. Wasn't that what was on that CD?

Not so much, it would appear. So I spent the day today re-arranging ALL the data files on my computer. (I'm home from work this week after minor surgery, remember. I've got time on my hands, honestly.) Since my computer was moving about as fast as I do getting out of bed in the morning, this took hours and hours and hours. It's so nice and neat now. I'll never find anything again. (And I never did find the one thing I was looking for. Damn.)

And now for something completely different. I got very very brave and applied to be reviewed in a couple of places. (Sounds of "Back to the Future" echoing in my head: "What if I'm no good? I don't think I could take that kind of rejection!" Or not.) I was very much debating why I was even doing this, and what I came up with was that the whole thing just intrigued me. (And I'm sticking with that.) Anyway, got a very nice review today from Cara at diaryreviews, if anyone wants to take a look. I think she was surprised to find herself reading a grown-up's diary.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here