the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

To Scrap or Not to Scrap

03.03.2003

1:24 pm

So now we've got all this incredible stuff that we found in my parents' apartment. Not jewelry or stock certificates; it's way better than that, and much more valuable. There are papers that document all the details of a life: receipts, wedding licenses, birth certificates, passports, draft cards, and oh, more receipts. The question is, what to do with them now?

Certainly I could put them in a scrapbook. I got into scrapbooking about a year and half ago, and I've done some work I'm really proud of. I don't do it all the time, but I know how to do it right when I do one. I made a really nice, but simple, scrapbook for my in-laws for their 50th anniversary last summer. I could make a scrapbook.

I think that what's slowing me down here is the thought of fixing each of these special papers in one place, all together. I wonder why that bothers me? I seem to want them to be more flexible, fluid somehow, so that any of the grandchildren who want to look can look in any order or way they want to. So I'm leaning towards some kind of file system, maybe with clear archival envelopes.

And I have another plan, too. About five years ago, I found all the old family pictures my mother kept in a big box, brought the box home, and ended up writing the whole history of my family, going back to my great-grandparents, based on the pictures. (The pictures were mixed in with the text, but it was more like an illustrated book than a scrapbook, which is more like pictures with extensive captions.) I was very happy with that, and may be spending some time this summer trying to get it into a diary, or a website. So it looks like now I'll be able to write the story of just my family, my parents' family, from the papers and documents.

I'll take some time to scan everything in, and then I'll write. In the meantime, a trip to The Container Store will be very nice. I'll get what I need to file the papers, and something for all those pictures, too. My niece is going to work on that one with me; she has all the pictures now.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here