the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

It's Friday again 113

04.04.2003

2:26 pm

I thought the Friday 5 was especially good for me this week, since I�ve been thinking about some of it recently, and even wrote about my house earlier in the week.

1. How many houses/apartments have you lived in throughout your life?
Three while I was growing up and still at home with my parents. Three since I'm married. So that's, what, six. Four apartments, two houses.

2. Which was your favorite and why?
Wow, hard. I guess the two houses, the one of my childhood and the one of my children. Neither is or was such a great house in and of itself. I grew up in your basic suburban split-level, a kind of house I'm not wild about, but it was a nice house. The mouse house isn't much to speak of or look at, but it's home.

3. Do you find moving house more exciting or stressful? Why?
Moving sucks. That's it. No other way to look at it. I am never moving out of this house unless I'm rich enough to afford to hire someone to pack everything while I'm at a hotel, or better yet, DisneyWorld. And I said this the day after I moved into it, in 1985.

4. What's more important, location or price?
If you can't afford it, location doesn't matter. If you can't handle the location, it doesn't matter how cheap it is. I don't think you can separate them.

5. What features does your dream house have (pool, spa bath, big yard, etc.)?
What I need in my dream house that I don't have now is:
  • a dining room closet and storage space, including a real attic
  • counter and storage space in the kitchen
  • more than one bathroom

Now here's what goes in the dream house, besides those things:

  • a craft room/study/computer room for me
  • a study or whatever he wants for Hubs
  • three or four bedrooms, at least
  • walk-in closets everywhere
  • a front porch with rocking chairs
  • a living room/entry area, not just walking into the living room
  • a dishwasher. make it two.

and of course

  • bathrooms. lots and lots and lots of bathrooms.

icky misty cold icy rain

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching still at school (hee)
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here